First Slice

This is my first time to participate in SOLSC. In my teaching this year (I am an ESL teacher, grades 3-6) one of my goals is to develop and teach lessons introducing elements of writer’s craft using mentor texts. We started the year enthusiastically creating name poems. Recently we have been been flattened by the testing steamroller, practicing prompt writing, following the model designed to get points on the test. So the result I hope for in taking on this challenge will be a renewed enthusiasm for reading and writing with my students. I see glimpses of what my students might really write with a more creative approach, of writing I could do myself as I write along with them. So I take the callenge to write every day this month and to find some writng joy worth sharing.

This entry was posted in SOLSC March 2012, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to First Slice

  1. Wendi says:

    I bet anything you find that joy this month! I’m a first-time Slicer, too. There seem to be a lot of us this year. I hope you all get through the test so you can get back to writing once again! 🙂

    • newtreemom says:

      My fellow teacher said the other day maybe I’d be ready to stop my weekly writing lessons (which for too long now have been test prompt practice mandated by our district) after the test…and I said NO! then we can get back to the fun stuff!

  2. Becky says:

    I hope you do find the joy. As teachers in this strange testing era, we need and deserve it.

  3. I hope this is just the boost you need. Testing season is tough and you will probably find that this helps you to manage it better (or at least with a smile on your face as you daydream about posting each night!).

  4. Good luck. April will be here soon.

  5. Valerie says:

    I’m a first time slicer too. Like you, I’m hoping to get my writing juices flowing with this challenge. I’m sure your students will notice your renewed enthusiasm.
    Happy Writing!

  6. Ramona says:

    I looked for other newbies like myself! I’m taking the leap with my students beside me. I’m hoping for renewed enthusiasm in my 6th graders and some writing joy for me!

  7. Ruth says:

    Welcome! And just think, after this month, you’ll have 31 possibilities to use as mentor texts with your students. Thanks for writing with us, Ruth

  8. Pam says:

    I taught ESL in another life. I loved those kids. Mine were 6-12, though, and that testing cloud was always hanging over our heads. Good luck with the project!

Leave a Reply

