My Daughter’s Cat (Slice 3)

I call her “Your Fluffiness” now. She’s starting to show her age a little, getting a lot rounder, not as nimble as she once was. Her real name is Chloe (or Clowey, if you look back to my daughter’s second grade writing journal). She was a kind of pitiful-looking little scrap of fur when we first got her, but she was a spitfire. I sometimes wondered what my daughter’s teacher must have thought when she went to school with scratches decorating her arms and hands after playing with that cat. Chloe is a one-person kind of cat. Early on, a friend nicknamed her Devil in Fur after she’d had more than her fill of hisses and scratches trying to make friends with Chloe. She hides from most people who come to visit. She bit my mom when she came to feed Chloe while we were on vacation. She cooly tolerates me when I am home alone with her. She adores my daughter, though. She will let my daughter hug her to pieces and she sleeps in her bed every night, waking her in the morning with a gentle nibble on the ear. She wanders the house looking for her when she is gone, meowing mournfully. The thing is, the second grader is now a senior. She’ll soon be off to college. I hope Her Fluffiness will let me hug her. We’ll both be missing our girl.

This entry was posted in animals, home and family, SOLSC March 2012, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Daughter’s Cat (Slice 3)

  1. Ashley Dawn says:

    Wonderful description 🙂

  2. luckygurl says:

    Awww. This made me choke up a little at the end! “She cooly tolerates me when I’m home alone with her.” This description is evocative. Thanks for sharing this!
    marika

  3. Isn’t it interesting how cats ‘choose’ a person. I’ve often wondered about that. I love the description, the connection between Her Fluffiness and your daughter and, especially, the end. My oldest daughter leaves for college next fall as well (smile, sniff). I also want to tell you how much I love the colors and light in the photo in the header for your blog!

  4. Pingback: Her Fluffiness Has Been Happy Again | newtreemom

  5. Pingback: The Princess Packs Up | newtreemom

  6. Pingback: Continuing Saga of Her Fluffiness and the Court Jester | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

