Oh, yum!/Que rico! (slice 7)

I had the best dinner tonight! A local Mexican restaurant recently changed owners, and it is completely different now. The place has become a gourmet Mexican eatery. The experience begins with the chips and salsa, standard fare in any Mexican restaurant. Here, the chips are light and crunchy. The salsa is velvety smooth with the tiniest bits of cilantro and a light taste of enchilada sauce. The menu reads like any number of other Mexican restaurants, but the dishes themselves are in a class above. The food is presented on pristine white square plates, a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds. My selection tonight was the fajita burrito. The rolled soft flour tortilla stretched from corner to corner across the large plate, stuffed with succulent strips of steak and tender-crisp strips of green pepper and onion and topped with a lovely cheese sauce accented by a touch of red and green pepper. The side dishes were placed in the opposite corners- a lightly spicy rice with just the right amount of mixed vegetables and a guacamole salad that was a work of art by itself- a mound of shredded bright and light green romaine lettuce topped by a scoop of avocado green guacamole studded with gem-like chopped tomatoes and artfully surrounded by curvy pieces of red onion. The flavor matched the sight. Rico y delicioso. I savored every bite.

The chef comes out from the kitchen to go around to each table and make sure the diners are satisfied. Attentive servers make sure you have everything you need. A fountain quietly flows in the center of the restaurant, just like in the plazas of ciudades en Mexico. And just like in the restaurants I visited there, customers here are welcome to linger and talk as long as they like, never rushed away…

(I wish I could write this equally as well in espanol as in English, but I will have to be satisfied with a few words and phrases sprinkled in… even though I make mistakes, I enjoy the attempt. I know from experience with my students and parents that it is appreciated, too, when I try to communicate in Spanish.)

This entry was posted in random thoughts, SOLSC March 2012, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oh, yum!/Que rico! (slice 7)

  1. zeaserspalace says:

    I can smell this and my mouth is watering. It’s been years since I took Spanish, so hopefully this comes out as a compliment…MUY BUENO!

  2. Lisa Stone says:

    Oh you got me hungry now! I LOVE Mexican, guess I know what dinner will be tomorrow!

  3. elsie says:

    This reads like a restaurant review, maybe you should send it into the paper. You’ve convinced me, I want to eat there!

  4. JenniferM says:

    Wow, all your sensory details are making my mouth water! Great descriptive slice!

  5. Jon says:

    You had me at Mexican Food, and I’m glad I read it! Wonderfully stated. Downside: now I’m incredibly hungry. Alas…:)

  6. Julie Crocker says:

    Now I’m craving mexican food. So many descriptive, mouth watering, spicy, cheesy passages in this post. Thank you.

  7. Tam says:

    Glad you have a great place for Mexican. Instead of Chinese this weekend, it might just be Ceballo’s!!! I’ve learned a new phrase, too. Que Rico! I could have used this in my post tonight.

  8. margaretsmn says:

    Mmm yum! Makes me hungry and I just ate.

Leave a Reply

