15 Random Facts (slice 20)

1. My mom had to threaten to call a cab to take her to the hospital when it was time for me to be born.

2. My mom and I have the same first name- Verrena, but most people only know me by my middle name.

3. Cherry pie is my favorite, and I’ve even had it with candles on it for my birthday.

4. I love flowers, but I have a brown thumb.

5. I have climbed Mt. Fuji in Japan, watched ships go through the Panama Canal, and lived in Lima, Peru.

6. I was first in my family to go to college.

7.  I’m proud to be a teacher in Indianapolis Public Schools, even though IPS gets a lot of bad press.

8. I have been foster mom to 11 children- though not all at the same time. (unlike my grandma, who had 11 children of her own!)

9. My three children are adopted.

10. I have been an Air Force and Army wife (my husband served in both branches) and am currently a Marine mom (my son is at Camp Pendleton).

11. I like to cook, but I don’t like to do the dishes.

12. I learned sign language at my church when I was in junior high, and interpreting for the deaf was my first paying job…if you don’t count babysitting.

13. I love my Kindle.

14. I am newtreemom because my daughter is going to Indiana State  University- home of the Sycamores.

15. The thing I most hope could be ever be said about me is that others saw Jesus in me.

This entry was posted in random thoughts, SOLSC March 2012, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 15 Random Facts (slice 20)

  1. Kristy says:

    I’m glad I could give you inspiration to copy from me! 🙂 I love my Kindle too!! I lke having these snippets to get to know people better on these posts!! How fun!

  2. mrssurridge says:

    An impressive list! We should pair up–I hate to cook but don’t mind doing dishes if someone else will cook for me!

  3. Ramona says:

    I shared the other list with my students, so I’m expecting to see some lists pop up in notebooks this week. It’s so fun to be inspired by each other.

Leave a Reply

