The Books of My Poem (slice 29)

I was touched to receive so many positive comments about my book spine poem. After reading the poems others created, I wanted to try it, too. I kept going through my book shelves at home, looking for the right books to create a message from my heart. I love the books I put in my poem, so I thought a good next slice would be talking about the books.

Light from Heaven by Jan Karon is the final novel in her Mitford Series. The novels are all about Father Tim, an Episcopal priest. He marries Cynthia, (a writer!), late in life- the story of their courtship and then their marriage is a sweet story. The residents of their small town of Mitford come alive on the pages, too, eccentric and lovable, one and all. The Mitford series is followed by another series about Father Tim and goes back to his earlier life and family history. Here’s the link to Jan Karon’s website.

Amazing Grace by Kenneth W. Osbeck is a collection of hymn stories for devotions. One story that brings such hope to me is the story of Horatio Spafford and the hymn It Is Well With My Soul. He had planned a trip with his family, but was detained and the family sailed without him. In a storm, his four daughters were all lost at sea. His wife miraculously survived. As he sailed to her, when he crossed near the place where his daughters had drowned, he was comforted by God and wrote, When peace, like a river, attendeth my soul, When sorrows, like sea billows roll, Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say, It is well with my soul.

The Living Bible paraphrase was published and released section by section in the 60’s. One Christmas I received The Living Gospels from my mother. What made it special was the personal note she wrote with it. Later, when my husband and I shared our first Christmas after we got married, I received from him a leather-bound Living Bible with my name stamped in gold. And during a time when we had weathered a rocky season in our life together, I received from him The New Living Bible. There are no greater words to guide us in life than the precious words God Himself provided for us. Having them available in translations and paraphrase that Bible scholars through the ages have been inspired to write, bringing our living languages to bear with the eternal truth is a gift from God, I believe, to help us know His word intimately. Receving a copy of the scripture from a loved one is also a gift from God.

Voices of the Faithful, with Beth Moore, compiled by Kim P. Davis, is a devotional book of stories of courage from Christians serving around the world, those who put their lives on the line for God. The entry for March 29 is the story of a missionary mom whose son has gone off to college. He calls, homesick and sick. Mom urges him to go to the campus clinic. He goes, and is so sick he is sent to a doctor. At the doctor’s office, the doctor pulls a card from her pocket- it was the missionary family’s prayer card. The doctor had been on a mission trip and had worked with the student’s parents and prayed for them every day since. She treated him and provided his needed medicine for free. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God. And the peace which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and yuor minds in Christ Jesus. Phil. 4:6-7 NASB

Making the Word Known by Nell Tyler Bowen (I think this book is out of print) is the biography of a missionary I was privileged to know personally, Lillian Isaacs. She was a great storyteller. She taught countless people how to read, helped countless others learn to speak English, and served lovingly in churches from Kentucky to Alaska. One who learned to read was Ruth. She was one of 9 children, and the year she was to go to school, the footbridge in their Kentucky mountain home was washed out and she couldn’t get there. The next year her mama had a new baby, and she was needed to help at home, and on and on, so that she never got the opportunity to learn to read. For years, she prayed that she could learn to read. By the time she met Lillian and learned to read, she was already a widow raising her grandchildren. She had a hard life, and often was sleepless at night. But when her prayer was answered and she learned to read, when she woke at night, she said to herself, Ruth, you can read,  and she would turn on her light and pick up her Bible and read through the night. her next prayer was to live long enough to read the Bible kivver to kivver.

Until He Comes by Calvin Miller is another devotional collection. It is written as if Christ is speaking to us. Here is a sample from today’s reading: Rehearse the way of discipline. The words disciple and discipline come from the same word. Grace is God’s gift to you, but your gift to him is discipline. Grace, being God’s part, is easy for you, while it cost God everything. I came to earth and died to pay the price for yur salvation. Grace,  like any gift, is free to the receiver. But, oh, how such gifts cost the giver! Discipline is your gift to God. The gift of discipline that you give God means that all the prayer, ministry, and sacrifice you give him come from your own desire to please God. The discipline of the road to heaven is rigorous  and requiring. The discipline of holiness causes the road to rise in steep ascent. The broad road that leads elsewhere is comfortably wide and gradual in its descent. The disciplines of the narrow road are crammed with meaning. So come to the upper road. The altitude is glorious. The mists roll back enough to let you see the towers of  heaven through the undiluted light. You have my promise at the end of the road are God’s grand gates.

I hope those who enjoyed the book spine poem will enjoy knowing about the books. I always love getting book recommendations.

This entry was posted in faith, SOLSC March 2012, thoughts on books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Books of My Poem (slice 29)

  1. I am familiar with most of these books but not all. It was interesting how you went through each book and highlighted what spoke to you from each. Since they all have Christian themes it was like your faith story, too. Thanks for taking the time to do that. It was uplifting for me.

  2. macrush53 says:

    I loved reading the Mitford series.

  3. Linda says:

    I agree this is a very uplifting list of titles. I haven’t read any of the Mitford series, but you’ve inspired me to order Light From Heaven to read this summer!

Leave a Reply

