Reading with My Daughter (slice 30)

Maria said in her post today, “Penultimate (that’s a great word, isn’t it)” It’s that word that brought to mind what to write about today. It reminded me of reading A Series of Unfortunate Events with my daughter, all the way through The Penultimate Peril and The End. We laughed and gasped our way through those stories…I read aloud most of them, but we listened to audiobooks on a vacation trip, too. (To anyone who has never read them, as you might guess from the word penultimate, the books are full of great words. They are also full of wicked humor. Probably they will fall into the love them or hate them category…)

Thinking about those books led to thinking about other books we read aloud together through the years. Some of her first favorites included Pat the Bunny, Goodnight Moon, and Disney Babies Goodnight. We read an awful lot of Barney and Baby Bop, too. She loved The Three Bears -Golden Book and Little Red Riding Hood- Richard Scarry’s (she had a red cape for Halloween one year). Someone gave her a dollar version of Wizard of Oz in whichDorothy looks like a Japanese cartoon and is carried away by a cyclone- she loved it. Of course, No More Jumping on the Bed, by Tedd Arnold only led to more jumping on the bed. We read Madeline until we had it memorized, and we were quite familiar with all her adventures in the other books. We had to go to ballet lessons after Angelina Ballerina and  Angelina and Alice was a model for friendship. We sang I’m a Little Teapot endlessly after reading Iza Trapani’s book, which has 12 verses of the song in the back. For Bible stories we loved Nick Butterworth and Mick Inkpen. We read poetry from anthologies, especially in 2nd grade when her teacher had a poem of the week all year long.  In fifth grade, she read The Music of the Dolphins by Karen Hesse. I think she did a repeat book report on it in sixth grade. In middle school, the last book I read aloud with her was Where the Lilies Bloom by Vera and Bill Cleaver, a favorite of mine. (If you have never read it, I think it is a must-read. There is a movie, too. My husband and I saw it at the theater in the 70’s and I loved it so much I wanted to see it again…I cried so hard, he tried to talk me out of it. Later, he would try to hide the TV Guide if he saw that it was going to be on TV.) When my daughter and I were reading the book, she had to do a journal for her class, and we got to talk about some important themes from the book. I will always cherish that time as the highlight of my reading life…even though I did a lot of reading before, and more since, and still hopefully have plenty of reading in my future, I can’t imagine what could be more special than that shared reading and talking. After that, my daughter has done her reading on her own (she’s more a mover and a shaker, though- not that much time to sit still and read!) There is one author, though, that she truly loved- Laurie Halse Anderson. She has read all of her books. She looked up her author website and sent an email. She was amazed when she actually got a response and saved it in her journal/scrapbook. Because of that, I hold on to the hope that maybe she will someday be a reader and we will talk about books…

This entry was posted in home and family, memories, SOLSC March 2012, thoughts on books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading with My Daughter (slice 30)

  1. Ramona says:

    I love reading about these wonderful memories you have of reading with your daughter. My daughter and I love to share picture books, and she’s 25 years old. When she visits, we still love to curl up together before bed and share a new picture book! She reads much faster than me so she’s a great resource for me. When she was younger, I used to say that she didn’t read a book, she inhaled it!

  2. Pingback: Six Months of Slicing | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

