It Was An Accident

Hey, this is marked down. It’s less than half what I usually pay, I thought to myself as I browsed the aisles at Walmart. A closer look revealed that it was the same as what I usually get, just a different brand. So I put a couple of boxes in my cart.

At home, I opened a box. I prepared and used the contents as usual. However, when I was finished, I was shocked by what I saw. Oh, no, I’ll never live this one down. How could I have known there was such a difference between brands? My hair had gone from light brown, almost blonde, to a very dark brown- almost black!

My shock turned to pleasant surprise. Everyone says it looks good! I told one friend it was an accident, and she said if it was an accident, it is the best accident I ever had. She says it makes me look ten years younger! Others have said my hair looks shiny and vibrant. Some have noticed a difference, but since they couldn’t put a finger on it, they have asked if I lost weight.

I guess I’ll be having another accident in a few weeks…

This entry was posted in random thoughts, SOLSC 2012 Weekly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It Was An Accident

  1. What a pleasant accident 🙂 Enjoy the “new” you!

  2. elsie says:

    That’s too funny they can’t figure out what it is that is different about you. Smile and say thank you.

  3. pamelahodges says:

    Loved this story. I was so intrigued by what you bought. It was nice to not be told right away what you purchased.

    • newtreemom says:

      Thanks for letting me know that you liked not knowing at the beginning what it was I bought. I deleberately wrote it that way, so I was glad to know it worked. Slice of Life gets you thinking about trying different ways of writing and focusing on small moments, trying to make them come alive again in writing.

      • pamelahodges says:

        Thanks for writing back. I enjoy the process of writing and it is nice to know how you approach your story. I have been leaving some stories open ended. Not telling what happens at the end. Like the story about jam on the counter I posted yesterday.

Leave a Reply

