A Mom’s Eye View of Graduation

Her name is announced

Poised, she walks across the stage

 

I choke with emotion,

Tears pool in my eyes

 

She accepts her diploma

Shakes hands with the principal

 

She exits the stage,

Joyful smile beaming bright

 

My heart is lifted,

Swells with pride

 

Past, present, and future collide

Tears fall blissfully

This entry was posted in home and family, memories, poems, reflections, SOLSC 2012 Weekly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Mom’s Eye View of Graduation

  1. pamelahodges says:

    Ah, how sweet. Your daughter graduated. You packed ALOT of emotion into so few words. Brilliant.

  2. Chris says:

    Graduation is such an emotional time! Congrats to you and your new graduate!!

  3. A beautiful moment captured in a beautiful poem. Did you share it with the graduate?

  4. Judy C. says:

    Such a poignant poem – I could feel your pride and joy in every word you wrote. Congrats to you & your graduate. I remember my kids’ high school, college and two masters graduations and I know how I felt.

  5. Ruth Ayres says:

    Past ,present, future collide — wow, what a line! I hope you’re proud of it.
    Ruth

  6. Terje says:

    This poem speaks to me. My youngest finished kindergarten. My middle one will finish middle school. it’s impossible to go through this without tears.

  7. Pingback: Six Months of Slicing | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

