Six Months of Slicing

I started my blog for the March Challenge at Two Writing Teachers, and after completing that, I have kept on writing and posting each Tuesday. Just over fifty posts in six months seemed like a good time to look back over all the posts and comments. It’s a manageable task right now, with 53 posts. 

I thought it was time for some updating. I added categories. I added some links. I played around with changing the theme, but I didn’t find one I like better so I am keeping Twenty Ten from WordPress for now.

I wonder why pictures on some of my posts are gone. On some posts, particularly the poems, the layout of the lines has gone crazy. I edit, and it looks right, then later when I come back, it is scrambled again. Seems like I come up against roadblocks in my understanding and use of technology pretty often. Maybe I will try to find a “techie” to help me learn about more of the features I could use.

The power of comments is just as great when you go back to reread. I found some that still make me think deeply. Some make me laugh. There are many that make me wish we could sit around the kitchen table and chat. One post had no comments. A few posts had only 1 or 2 comments. (It made me wonder what I may have missed reading and commenting on from other slicers!) I wished for more feedback on some, but most had multiple comments, and after rereading over 300 comments, I am more grateful than ever to all who take time to read and then share their thoughts. It is just amazing! That “conversation” is the best thing about SOLSC. I’ve thought so since my first post!

Rereading some of the posts, I thought they didn’t really come out quite as I intended. Rereading some had me thinking, that’s really terrible writing! Overall, I was pleased with what I have written. There are some pieces I think I could revise, expand, improve. Some pieces I really like just the way they are. I liked certain types (villanelle poetry, for example) of writing I tried, and thought I should try them again with different topics.

It will be interesting to look back in another six months. I sure hope I am still going strong, and ready for another month of writing when March rolls around again.

Thanks to Stacey and Ruth for hosting all the slicers at Two Writing Teachers!Please link the Slice of Life Story you write today to this post by leaving a comment. Be sure to check out other bloggers’ writing by clicking through the links in the comment section of this post. Come back later today (or even tomorrow) to read through the links of a few other Slicers who link their blogs after you.  Also, if you read someone else’s writing, please leave a comment on their blog.

This entry was posted in reflections, SOLSC 2012 Weekly, SOLSC March 2012, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Six Months of Slicing

  1. elsie says:

    What a great reflection on what you’ve written for the last six months! You are so right that the conversation of the comments is so powerful. I’m glad you joined in March and have continued to post. This is a wonderful place to try out new pieces and styles of writing.

  2. Judy C. says:

    I, too, started writing in March after the encouragement of my daughter, Michelle, and have continued each Tuesday. I have found this to be very fulfilling and it has made me become so much more aware of what is going on around me. I have gone back and looked at some of my slices and comments. Like you, there are some that I wonder why I wrote them and that they didn’t come out as I planned, but the comments make me feel like I have warm fuzzies every week. Thanks for sharing your slices and your reflection.

  3. I started at the same time. It has been such an interesting experience. I have learned so much about the power of writing and community that has been surprising. It would be a joy to sit around the kitchen table and chat with you! ( You never know as amazingly I got to meet Elsie.). In a way that is exactly what we do!

  4. I had started my blog a while ago, but really started writing more regularly in March. Now. it is almost an addiction as I use writing to sort out my thinking, organized my ideas, and stall from doing the work that I must do for my professional life. I never realized how powerful comments were until March – honestly – it changed my teaching life. My grad students write more than ever but we all comment all the time. Keep on writing and thinking and at times stalling (if you are like me) because this community of writers is pretty powerful.

  5. luckygurl says:

    I want to say, “Me too!” I have had many of the same reflections since starting to write in March. (And I did a sort of reflection and “review” of my posts so far this summer for my slice today… weird!) Keep. On. Writing. It’s been lovely to visit your virtual kitchen table. 🙂

  6. I enjoyed your reflection & congratulation on continuing on, with sometimes little motivation, in addition to all your other commitments, you have continued! That’s something to be so proud of. I started to in March, only a year ahead in 2011, & have enjoyed every bit. It is a special community, inspiring & innovative. Looking forward to reading more from you!

  7. pamelahodges says:

    I have often wondered how you chose the title of your blog. I started writing in March as well and have continued on Tuesdays. I so appreciate the community and the thoughtful comments. I look forward to reading your writing, and appreciate your comments on my writing. Thank you.

  8. I’m so glad you are here. One way I have learned to work out some of the bugs with a blog is to create a blog for messing around. I keep it private and just experiment with photos, format, etc. But just like you, I can’t imagine my life without blogging now even though I sometimes have trouble keeping up with it.

  9. Pingback: My 100th Slice! SOLSC2013#18 | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

