Blaze of Glory

Today

A crisp, cool breeze touches my cheeks

I notice spots of yellow-gold,

 splashes of orange, and

swatches of deep red on the trees

Brilliant, clear sunshine streams down

Fluffy white clouds hang high in the blue, blue sky

A flock of birds flies overhead 

A smile brightens my face

Anticipation beats in my heart

Soon

The full blaze of glory will appear

Day after sunny day with chilly air

A fresh clean scent to breathe in

Trees draped in dazzling jeweled hues

Wind whispering, leaves rustling and crunching

Apple cider, cinnamon doughnuts, pumpkin-spice everything

Autumn is arriving,

filling my senses,

preparing my soul

for gathering together

for thanks-giving

This entry was posted in poems, reflections, SOLSC 2012 Weekly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blaze of Glory

  1. Lynn says:

    So so descriptive!! Just beautiful. . . it almost makes me look forward to the crisp air and changes that are just about here!

  2. Deb Day says:

    This is so lovely. You captured the essence of fall with this. I especially loved the last few lines, “preparing my soul /for gathering together /for thanks-giving”.

  3. “Trees draped in dazzling jewel tones” that happens even here in Southern California. Fall is my favorite season. You have me looking forward to experiencing it as it arrives for all the reasons you mentioned.

  4. Judy C. says:

    A beautiful poem describing a wonderful season . I closed my eyes after reading your poem and I could picture everything you wrote. We had a couple of cool, crisp days last week and today back up to 90. Fall is coming, I can feel it. Thanks for sharing. .

  5. I could visualize everything you s
    Described so perfectly-especially the jeweled colors of the trees!

  6. This puts me in the mood for the fall. Terrific!

  7. what as lovely image you describe in words – I love the juxtapostion of fluffy clouds and a full blaze of color. lovely

  8. Donna Smith says:

    Loved it. It really got me in the mood for enjoying my favorite season! I wish it would last longer than all the others!

  9. Love it! “Wind whispering, leaves rustling and crunching”. It’s raining here, & we welcome it very much, but will have those days like you described too. You’ve captured it so beautifully.

  10. Ramona says:

    Your poem is exquisite! I hope it’s okay for me to share it with my students. So many golden lines in it. I love the alliteration at the beginning. “A crisp, cool breeze touches my cheeks” and then the words – spots, splashes and swatches. I love fall too!

  11. This is just wonderful. So many images and senses captured so well. I love fall and now I love it even more. Thanks for reminding us of all the things we have to be thankful for in this beautiful season – including the thanks-giving time!

  12. onesunflower says:

    Your words connected with all the senses.

  13. Terje says:

    Such a beautiful beautiful poem!

Leave a Reply

