Little Miss Priss

I celebrated a birthday last week. My mom gave me a card with a picture of a little girl in a poufy dress and a hat with a flower on the brim, carrying some pink flowers in her hand.

The card says,”Daughter, nothing could be more beautiful than memories of the dear little girl you were… except the thought of the unique and wonderful person you are today!”

My mom said, “The picture reminds me so much of you when you were little. You loved to wear dresses. You were so prissy. Little Miss Priss!”

I thought, “Me? Prissy? Hmm…maybe I need to go shopping for a new dress and hat…something that will make me feel prissy again…”

The words on the card and the words my mother said both meant so much…

By the way, it’s a l-o-o-o-ng stretch of the imagination for anyone besides my mother to remember me as a little girl! Little Miss Priss, indeed! Gotta find that girl again!

This entry was posted in home and family, memories, SOLSC 2012 Weekly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Little Miss Priss

  1. elsie says:

    Your reaction to your mother’s thoughts of you being Miss Priss was great! Isn’t it interesting how we view/remember ourselves compared to another person’s thoughts. Happy belated birthday!

  2. I agree with Elsie, we often differ in our ideas of who we are compared to what others think, moms included. But it’s a fun memory, & I hope you find just the right dress!

  3. Jaana says:

    It is fun to hear which memories our parents remember–mine where often very different frommy mom’s.

  4. Oh what a sweet mommy memory. Charming to have your Mom remember the “Little Miss Priss” in you. Lovely to still have your Mom thinking of the little you. Something to cherish. Now get shopping…

  5. margaretsmn says:

    Sometimes I love to put on a dress and heals and pretend to be prissy again.
    Thanks for sharing the love of moms and birthdays.

  6. Bev says:

    What a lovely description of you and your mom’s memories of you when you were younger. I guess we do see ourselves differently. But a mom’s eyes are so special.
    Thanks so much for your kind comments – they really man a lot.

  7. Terje says:

    Belated Happy Birthday! Your mom’s choice of a card and her comment are precious. Go, get a dress and find the little girl.

  8. Happy Birthday…and you seem to be opposite of the ‘Little Miss Priss’. I guess we did love the dress and the pantens way back when. xo nanc

  9. onesunflower says:

    What a sweet sentiment your mother shared – everyone would love to hear that from someone who has been there from the beginning! I wonder what my mom remembers about me – I’ll have to ask.

  10. pamelahodges says:

    Happy Belated birthday.
    Did you get a new dress? The card and the sentiment are so sweet, Unique and wonderful.

Leave a Reply

