E.T. Phone Home

I heard on the Today Show this morning, while reading slices and trying to think about what to write today (I’m home on two glorious weeks of Fall Break), that it is the 30th anniversary of the movie E.T. It took me back in time…

We stood in line with lots of other excited moms, dads, and kids to get  our tickets for the movie- a little family of three, mom, dad, and freckle-faced, red-headed seven year old. Except really, we were  foster parents and foster child. The little red-head was just a little more excited than most, you could see if you observed closely. Simple family outings had not been the norm in her life.

Tickets in hand, we entered the theater. “Can we get popcorn?”

“Wouldn’t be a movie without it!” answered kid-at-heart dad. He came back from the concession stand balancing the largest bucket of popcorn and three Cokes, and we debated where the best seats were, then settled in. Little did we know what an emotional journey we were embarking on.

We laughed, we held our breath, we cried- yes, we all cried (even dad). Leaving the theater the little red-head said in a quivering voice, “I”m just like E.T.” and I brushed a tear from her freckled cheek as we huddled together in a three-way hug.

Thirty years later, it’s been nearly that long since I touched  that little cheek… wish you could phone home, E.T.

(for more of this story, see The Tiger)

This entry was posted in home and family, memories, SOLSC 2012 Weekly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to E.T. Phone Home

  1. This is the second time I have read this story, and I still cry when I read the end of it. I wish your little red-headed E.T. could phone home too. I know it was over thirty years ago that you went to the movie, but your writing made the experience come to life and I felt like it was just happening.

  2. Lynn says:

    I know when I heard that I was amazed as well! Where has 30 years gone??? Great movie and great memory.

  3. I saw the interview with the grown-up, real life Elliott too. It’s hard to believe so much time has passed. I remember seeing it in the theater (multiple times) like it was yesterday. Did you hear him say that Barrymore thought ET was real? How adorable was that?

  4. Tara says:

    Ah that last line! I know exactly how you feel, about the movie and the ETs who need to call home.

  5. I must have missed your ‘tiger’ slice in March, sad for you, like ET for sure. I just showed my grandson the movie last year & he loved it. We saw it with my children and my parents happened to be visiting when it premiered here. It was a big evening I remember, & we too all were so sad.
    Your story will stay with me I’m sure, perhaps because of the connection to ET. It is beautifully written.

Leave a Reply

