Sources of Light

Have you read Sources of Light by Margaret McMullan? It is a beautiful novel with many layers of story.

The year after my father died, my mother took a job teaching in a small college in Jackson, Mississippi…it was 1962…I was fourteen years old…my father had been in the army…they said he was a hero, and I believed them. It is the story of a young girl’s journey through grief with her mother.

I was still young enough to want to dress up for Halloween but old enough not to talk about it. It is a coming of age story.

Samantha. I was wondering. Will you come to the dance with me? This moment felt so new, I wished it would slow down. It is a story of young first love.

He gave me the camera…it was a black Asahi Pentax…what should I take pictures of? Anything you look at or wonder about or want to know more about. It is the story of a developing artist, of a girl finding and following a passion- of discovering a way to see life.

My mother taught me without ever having to tell me that you didn’t discuss the race situation out loud. You just did the right thing, always. It is the story of a painful time and place in our history.

The story has unbearable sadness. You will cry as you read. Yet as the title hints, you will find a sense of hope when you reach the end.

This entry was posted in thoughts on books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sources of Light

  1. Ramona says:

    Oh, your review is sending me straight to the library site to request this title! I love the way you incorporated the author’s words into your post.

  2. newtreemom says:

    It is one of the Young Hoosier books (http://www.ilfonline.org/clientuploads/12-13YHBANominees.pdf) this year. I love reading children’s lit! Recently I (finally) read The Happiness Project (2009, Gretchen Rubin) and the author had an idea I adored- a book club for grown-ups who enjoy reading children’s lit. Some of the people in the group didn’t have kids, or work with kids…they just enjoyed the books. So they met and had dinner or dessert inspired by the books they read and discussed.

  3. Pingback: My 100th Slice! SOLSC2013#18 | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

