Amazed

I have been reading Poetry Mentor Texts: Making Reading and Writing Connections, K-8 by Lynne R. Dorfman and Rose Capelli. I loved the chapter on acrostic poems. Here is what I wrote:

Amazed

As we go through our days do we pause in the

Midst of our busyness to stand

AMAZED at the many small miracles that surround us, or do we

Zip through

Every moment, oblivious, when we could be

Dazzled by joy?

This entry was posted in poems, reflections, SOLSC 2013 Weekly, thoughts on books. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Amazed

  1. spillarke says:

    I’ve been enjoying Poetry Mentor Texts too, but I hadn’t thought about trying it out for slice topics. I love how the Zs buzz and push us toward delight in your poem.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    Acrostics are so pleasing in their story lines. I like the lesson in your poem!

    • newtreemom says:

      I was amazed (yep, I meant to use that word) by all the stories told in acrostic poems, both mentor poems and examples of student writing in Dorfman and Capelli’s book.

  3. Very beautiful poem that says something so big about life. I want to stay AMAZED every day at the goodness surrounding me. Thank you for the reminder.

  4. I now have another book to add to my to-read list. I liked how you shared the acrostic. This book sounds like a great addition to my professional collection.

    • newtreemom says:

      Look for Stacey’s interview with the authors in a post on TWT January 17. The authors have also written books about children’s literature and nonfiction as mentor texts. All 3 books include extensive bibliographies of mentor texts and Your Turn lessons to try them out.

  5. gillis says:

    It’s great – a small jewel of a poem to stop and make one think!

  6. newtreemom says:

    Thank you for your comment.

  7. Jaana says:

    Today’s slices has left me dazzled with joy. Your definitely dazzled me!

  8. LOVE THAT TEXT – of course I have loved EVERYTHING by that duo! as wella s you inspiring poem!

  9. Ramona says:

    Oh no, another book I want to purchase! I loved your acrostic and the reminder to pause and be dazzled by joy. This fits right in with my OLW for this year – listen. I’m learning that listening well requires me to slow down.

  10. newtreemom says:

    Feeling the pain of the expanding book list…I discovered one I want in a slice today, too. I find my OLW coming to mind often as I read, too- and it was definitely on my mind when I wrote- CHOOSE.

  11. Pooh Hodges says:

    I really must get this book. Thank you for suggesting it. I am teaching the kittens to read and this book would be a good companion to the books I am using now. All the best, Pooh. Do you have a cat in your house that you are staff for?

    • newtreemom says:

      You are so smart to get the kittens reading while they are young! I work for two cats- Chloe, aka Her Fluffiness, and Taff, named for the Tafe tractor he climbed on as a kitten while he lived at my sister’s place in the country. He especially liked the bucket of the tractor. Joy for him. Chloe’s joy- her true staff, who is away at college.

  12. So many good things to think about and comment on in this.
    But I want to concentrate and stay with this thought
    “Dazzled by joy” without a question mark.
    Dazzled
    Joy
    Such a bright thought to wallow in this evening! 🙂

Leave a Reply

