My Second Sister

     I grew up with one sister and two brothers. After I was grown up and married, my dad passed away, and then my mom remarried. My step-dad brought some new siblings into the picture. I lived far from home at the time, so I didn’t see them often- just occasionally at various family gatherings.

     Fast forward through the years and I moved back home after I became a widow. The youngest step-sister had changed from the wild party girl I had known when she was in her late teens/early twenties.  She was a single mom raising a daughter. Now she is living by faith. Now we have a lot more in common.

     She is very different from my sister. We don’t share childhood memories. She never knew my dad. She has her own mom and her own brother and sisters, her own childhood memories.

     We are quite different, too. She has a sense of humor I sometimes just don’t get.  She loves shrimp- I am allergic. My mom’s spaghetti is not her favorite, like it is mine. She would probably prefer plain walls and doesn’t like to cook. She thinks I am “Suzy Homemaker.” She thinks my church is too sedate, even boring. I find hers a little (well, OK, a lot) too loud.

   We talk several times during a usual week. We get together for dinner or dinner and a movie at least once a month. We share season tickets to a local theater. We attend special events at each other’s church- we love the same Jesus. We call each other when we need help with something.

     She is no longer my step-sister. Now she is my second sister.

Today I attended a reception to honor my sister at the hospital where she works. She was receiving the Family Spirit Award, given to one out of over 4,000 employees at the hospital each month. It was a joy to see others recognize her generous and loving heart, and honor her for the kind way she cares about others.

This entry was posted in home and family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Second Sister

  1. mayawoodall says:

    I love how you’ve connected despite and because of your differences. Being sisters means accepting those differences–I love this heartfelt sharing.

  2. Ramona says:

    What a loving tribute to your second sister! I like the progression the piece takes as you mention how she’s different from your sister, how she’s different from you, and then how you make time to be together.

  3. Your story is indeed a tribute to the power of love to grow – even when the roots are different.

  4. margaretsmn says:

    You seem to feel about your second sister the way I feel about my mother-in-law. She is like my second mother. Last night she brought over split pea soup not even aware that it was exactly what I needed. Thanks for sharing this touching story.

  5. blkdrama says:

    That’s so cool! I think it’s a great thing to be able to expand your inner circle. I needed a few more siblings or a variation on that theme and got a few. Such a good thing. Enjoy that new sister.

  6. I loved how you have named her…your ‘second sister’. You are building your new memories with her. This is some of how I feel about Kelle, my ‘second’ daughter that arrived when she was 17 and now is 27…exactly ten years as of yesterday. xo

  7. What an inspiring piece. I love how you took us on the journey of your relationship through your word choice…it warmed with each new detail. Thanks for sharing this slice :).
    b

  8. elsie says:

    Families are special like that. There can be so many differences but yet togetherness.

  9. What a great way to think of your sister! It shows me how relationships are built over time-blossoming into a beautiful reminder of how precious relationships can change for the better when we put in the work to make it happen!

  10. Jaana says:

    This is wonderful and touching! I love the fact that even though you don’t particularly care for each others churches you still love the same Jesus! By the way, I feel a bit envious as I don’t have any sisters…..

  11. Linda Baie says:

    I have a wonderful brother & am blessed with two great sisters-in-law. Thank goodness for them! I love the way you wove through the story into a loving ending. Just the right kind of story.

  12. Terje says:

    This is a beautiful piece about your second sister. I hope that you shared this slice with her.

  13. Pingback: A Couple of Funny Slices from Dinner: SOLSC2013#7 | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

