Sonney Rain-no-more:SOLSC2013#2

sols_6

He barreled into our hearts and home for just a short while, that little angel-boy with chubby cheeks and enchanting laugh. His personality was as cheery as his given name, Sonney Rain-no-more. He loved everything. He loved going to the zoo. He loved climbing on “daddy’s” back to play horsey and snuggling on “mommy’s” lap when he was sleepy. He loved the park, especially climbing up and flying down the slide, over and over. He loved his friends and playing with them- everyone he met was a friend in his way of thinking. He loved bedtime stories and birthday parties. He loved and missed his real mama, even though she couldn’t always take care of him.

His real mama was abused first by his father, who was already long gone, and now by her new boyfriend. She was “trying” to leave, but it was just too hard. A new baby was on the way. So instead she tried to “make it work.” When enough progress was made to satisfy the court, Sonney went home, leaving us, his foster parents.

Some months later, “making it work” wasn’t working anymore and Sonney returned to us for awhile, this time with a little sister who had even chubbier cheeks and the name Pork Chop- not her given name, but the only name anybody called her. It wasn’t long until somehow the parents again had it “together” enough for the children to return home.

A couple of years passed before we saw Sonney again. His difficult home life was taking a toll. He was too old for his age, tough and street smart. His name was not enough to keep the storm clouds away.

The family moved away. Eventually we moved from the area, too. I don’t know what happened  to Sonney, but I hope the day came when indeed it rained no more for him, and he could remember and reclaim the joyful spirit he had as a little boy.

It isn’t an easy thing to be a foster parent, we learned this more than once, but there are still many children who need foster parents.

This entry was posted in home and family, memories, SOLSC March 2013, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sonney Rain-no-more:SOLSC2013#2

  1. Carol Wilcox says:

    Your posts about foster kids break my heart. I adopted my two guys from the foster care system when they were 7 and 9. They are now 17 and 19, and have come a long way, but like Sonney, still bear so, so, so many scars from their childhood. I’m thinking about taking a few more when my youngest moves out. Just can’t imagine a house without kids. And I know there are so many kiddos who need a mama.

    • newtreemom says:

      My oldest was 7 when she first came to live with us, adopted at 13; middle was 3, adopted at 9, youngest came at 5 months, adopted before reaching 1 (now 39, 28,and 19)… before/during that time 10 other foster children, some with us a few years, some a few weeks…

  2. aggiekesler says:

    Wow…the heart of foster parents. How hard it must be to invite these lost children into your lives, love on them, and send them on their way. I envy your character and strength. Thanks for showing us the perspective of a foster parent!
    ~Jennifer

  3. The love your “fostered” for that little one and all your children is so clear and beautiful. It is clear you have a heart of gold as big as the sky!

  4. Jaana says:

    You are so brave! Life of so many children is so much brighter because of you. Sonney will never forget you–no matter what life may have brought his way.

  5. Ruth Ayres says:

    I’m glad to read your words this morning. I was stirred in the early moring hours to write about foster kids…I’m still letting the words swirl and am trying to find a way to write the tough stuff with dignity and honor.
    Ruth

  6. I remember the girl with the tiger and now Sonney(his little sister, too). These stories choke me with sadness. Then I remember though there is no happy ending evident and in ways I can’t comprehend God’s eyes have never left them. It matters that they were taken in and loved even for a short time and I know you were given the grace to endure the sorrow. This leads me to prayer, the place I always go when the complexities of living stymie me.

  7. jee young says:

    You describe Sonny in a way that make me feel like I know him. I can’t begin to imagine the scars and hurt that the foster children must carry with them. It breaks my heart to hear how they have to always be going from home to home. I think it must be an amazing privilege to have these precious children in your homes whether it is for a short or long time! I’m sure you have a special place in Sonny’s heart! 🙂

  8. Robin says:

    What a story! I admire your strength and courage. It must take a lot of both to be a foster parent. I know that there are so many children who need a loving home…but it must break your heart to see them leave again. Thanks for sharing Sonney’s story.

  9. Donna Smith says:

    When I was young my parents took in 3 or 4 foster teens. And I remember a newborn coming to our home overnight, sleeping in a quilt lined drawer. I believe this one was an adoption situation where we took in the baby until the adoptive parents came to pick her up. As a child I wondered how there could just be “extra” children in the world, and where they went when they left us.
    Thanks for this slice, and I truly hope Sunney can get his life together. Thanks for being there for so many children who need loving parents!

  10. Hmm. Having just finished Lowry’s “Son”, the conclusion to “The Giver”, and then Donna’s comment about ‘extra children’ my ideas of parenting are all swirled. Thank you for letting us share in the prayers for all kids who have a tough time.

  11. cspeterson says:

    Your slice was heartbreaking and joyful by turns. I love Sonny’s name and his sister’s too. Those lifescars heal but they never entirely go away. I wish they would, but I haven’t yet found a working magic wand. The kind of love you provided is the closest to a magic wand we can get.

Leave a Reply

