Things I Liked in Lima: SOLSC2013#5

The other day I was thinking about the flower ladies, which got me thinking about my time living in Lima, Peru. My family lived there from September 1998-April 2000. My husband was pastor of the Union Church of Lima. Here’s a list of things I liked in Lima:

  • our 10th floor apartment overlooking a park, waking up to the cooing of pigeons in the trees outside our window
  • most places I needed to go were close enough to walk to
  • bodegas- little neighborhood shops
  • friends from many countries, missionary friends
  • Heladeria Donofrio
  • my son and daughter in a home-school co-op with missionary kids
  • the Indian market– all kinds of handicrafts, silver, pottery, your name on a grain of rice
  • full-time maid
  • kids’ movies like Inspector Gadget and Stuart Little in Spanish- very hilarious
  • the park near the coast with the Nazca designs in flowers
  • Pardo’s pollo a la brasa, papas con mayonesa, palta, y chicha morada o Inca Kola
  • dogs living on rooftops
  • flowers- calla lilies, sunflowers, and roses
  • Supermercado Wong
  • aji de gallina lomo saltado– unas cenas favoritas
  • cappucino con crema with friends
This entry was posted in memories, SOLSC March 2013, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things I Liked in Lima: SOLSC2013#5

  1. mtsedwards says:

    It may just be a list, but what a list it is! Your details are exquisite and specific – I feel as if I’d been there too. Your longing is infectious.

  2. Chandra says:

    I loved this–simple but intimate look into your life in that time and place. May file this approach away for tomorrow’s slice… 🙂

  3. elsie says:

    What an interesting experience this must have been. Dogs living on rooftops? What is normal in one world, is so different in another.

    • newtreemom says:

      Yes, the houses had flat roofs and people put the dog house on the roof! From our high windows, we could look down at the housetops on the other side of the park.

  4. Pingback: My Son in Peru: SOLSC2013#6 | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

