Kindness: SOLSC2013#12

So many at my school are fighting off colds. Sneezing. Sniffling. Grabbing tissues. Coughing.

I’ve been one of them. I thought I was going to lose my voice during testing week! After I made it through the week and kept my voice, I thought I’d won the battle.

This afternoon I was with a fifth grade class. We had just done a writing mini-lesson, and everyone was writing. It was quiet-  unusual for this particular class full of kids who love to talk. Then it started. A tickle in my throat. A little cough. A dry feeling in my throat. Another cough. This kept repeating.

It was time for me to move on to my next group. As I was leaving, I heard my name spoken softly. And one of the boys held out his hand with a cough drop.

Wow.sols_6

This entry was posted in school, SOLSC March 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kindness: SOLSC2013#12

  1. What a wonderful ending to a “cold” filled lesson. We too hve COLDS and coughs and illnesses in a record number this week!

  2. elle1955 says:

    I wasn’t expecting that ending. So sweet. I love that.

  3. elsie says:

    I hate that tickle that cannot be calmed. What a sweet offering!

  4. Choose kindness! How great to see it in your students.

  5. jhaworthoy says:

    Wow is right! What a perceptive boy. I do hope you just had a tickle and it does not develop into anything else. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  6. Jaana says:

    Definitely a memorable moment!

  7. I’ve been coughing a lot today, so I really loved that ending. How kind of that student. Thank you for sharing this slice. It was short and sweet.

Leave a Reply

