Nothing: SOLSC2013#16

Nothing. I’ve got nothing to write today. I could write about being lazy and sleeping in this Saturday morning, but that’s not too interesting. I could write about a day spent shopping and going out to lunch with my daughter and sister today, but I can’t come up with anything to say about it. I could write about how we dropped by Mom’s, and she was out on some errands, and we found ants in the kitchen and sprayed  them and cleaned up the mess so mom wouldn’t worry about it.  I could write about taking my daughter back to college tomorrow, but I don’t want to think about that- I’m not quite ready for her to go yet. I could write about the message from my other sister that her friend’s husband who had been recovering from a stroke, and seemingly doing better, died today. But I will save my words to send in a card.

Everything. I have everything to write about today. Every day. There is so much to write about any day. The problem is not finding something to write about, really. You just have to take some time and write. It’s not always great, but if you’re a writer, you just have to keep on writing even when you think you got nothing.

sols_6

This entry was posted in reflections, SOLSC March 2013, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nothing: SOLSC2013#16

  1. jmagee says:

    I was just thinking today that I had nothing and realized it was important to write anyway. Thanks for the extra bit of encouragement!

  2. Paul says:

    When you think you have nothing, the pen will lead you to something. It will lead you…to your life. I hope you write further about some of the things you mentioned — there’s a lot of deep-meaning potential there —

  3. Terje says:

    I like how you switched from “nothing to write about” to “everything”to write about. Such a positive statement.

  4. Ramona says:

    This one goes in the reading list so I can share it with my students on Monday. Like Terje, I love the movement from nothing to everything. And my favorite phrase -“… if you’re a writer, you just have to keep on writing even when you think you got nothing.”

  5. Jaana says:

    Yes, you just take the time and write! I am so glad you are writing!

Leave a Reply

