What Makes a 19 Year-Old Cry?

After a very long time, years actually, with no symptoms, my daughter’s asthma is flaring up this summer. She went to the doctor once already and got two new inhalers. She called this morning to get a follow-up appointment.  Then she went to her job as a lifeguard. It was hot and muggy as the sun came up this morning, and it kept getting hotter and muggier as the hours minutes passed.

She texted me (at summer school, a half hour away) that she felt like crying because she didn’t think she could wait that long to see the doctor. (I felt like crying reading that… and like rushing home to take care of her.)  She said it wasn’t an emergency-  she was just tired of having a hard time breathing. I advised her to call the doctor’s office again and try to talk to the nurse and see if they could work her in. She tried, but the nurse wasn’t available. The receptionist did move her appointment up- but it still would not be until the day after tomorrow.

I asked her if she thought she should call in for a replacement at the pool and go home. She did. I told her she could call the doctor’s office and ask for the nurse or doctor to call her. She didn’t know if she could do that because she felt like she was bothering  them too much. I told her to use her own judgment. She called again.

By the time I got home, the doctor had called in a prescription for another medication. (I went to the pharmacy for her.) She is feeling slightly better after the first two doses. She is taking it easy… but growing up, starting to handle things on your own, is not that easy. Being the mom trying to let her do it is not so easy, either.

 

 

This entry was posted in home and family, SOLSC 2013 Weekly. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Makes a 19 Year-Old Cry?

  1. mayawoodall says:

    I can see you still want to take care of your girl and be there for her. As a mom of a young child, I can’t imagine being there with my girl all grown up and still feeling worrying and fretting. Mother daughter love is so special. I can read the love in your words.

  2. This is a transition for both of you. It sounds like you handled it just right, standing by and advising but letting her take actions. Well done. Sending a prayer!

  3. Linda Baie says:

    It sounds like you did it beautifully. You let her choose according to her feelings, and you didn’t step up to say, ‘oh I’ll do that’! I think that’s great. So many do a disservice to their children by doing way too much. I’m so glad the new meds seem to be working!

  4. blkdrama says:

    You are doing right by your daughter, supporting her independence with love and caring. She’s lucky to have you and you are blessed to have her. Sorry you couldn’t join us this year. Maybe next?

  5. elsie says:

    It is so hard not to rush in and fix situations for our kids. I know just how you felt. You are a wise mother. I can’t imagine not being able to get a good breath. I hope she is doing better.

Leave a Reply

