My Charmed Life

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I started as a simple silver bracelet,
a gift in a long, slim box-
wrapped in shimmery, shiny paper and
adorned with a bow.

One by one my charms were added-
praying hands, a cross, and a church with a steeple,
ballet slippers and a ballerina in a tutu,
a tennis racket and bowling pins…

More and more charms joined my collection-
a miniature flute with tiny keys,
a covered wagon, state map, and a saw,
muses of drama and comedy-
faith, hope and charity.

I jingled and jangled my way
through high school days
dangling from my girl’s arm
’til I got my graduation cap.

I rested in a drawer many long years,
thought I’d been forgotten-
then my girl’s girl found me,
and she gave me more charms!

A horse, and a horse shoe for good luck,
a black cat with a long tail,
even the moon and a star…
I’m getting all filled up, but

Now upon my star I wish
for another girl to add new charms and
put me on her wrist
and make me jingle and jangle
once again.

Read Chapter 5 in Poetry Mentor Texts by Lynne R. Dorfman and Rose Cappelli to learn more about “persona poetry- writing in the voice of another.”

sols_6

This entry was posted in poems, SOLSC 2013 Weekly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Charmed Life

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Wonderful, and to hear the passing of this special bracelet. I have mine, not so many charms, but each means a memory doesn’t it? I have the Dorfman-Cappelli book but still haven’t read it-too many PD books. You’ve made me interested!

  2. Tara says:

    A lovely story i this poem. And, a new book to add to my PD list!

  3. Oh…how I wish I still had mine. I love the memory chain of this special poem. We have so many things in common. xo

  4. This is JUST LOVELY! I sure hope these lovely charm bracelets come “back” in style as I too have one wrapped lovingly in a drawer, waiting for a chance to reappear!

  5. blkdrama says:

    I’m so happy for that bracelet of family memories. What a wonderful rescue!

  6. elle1955 says:

    I, too, gave my charm bracelets to my girls. Luckily, I had 3 for 3.

  7. elsie says:

    Charms always fascinated me, but alas I never owned one. I love the style of this poem. I hear longing in the voice of this bracelet.

  8. How lucky you are to still have your charm bracelet! I don’t have any idea what happened to mine. It didn’t have nearly as many charms as yours. I love the way each one reveals a part of you and your daughter. Thanks for sharing!

  9. A bracelet full of memories. I never owned a charm bracelet, but admire the way collecting charms is like the collection of stories. Each one is special. (Perhaps charm bracelets can be used to help with small moment writing in writing workshop.)

Leave a Reply

