Writing Celebration Moments

“Mrs. Anderson, are we going to have Starbursts and read our poems like we did last year?” I was surprised when one of my students asked me this one day out of the blue. It wasn’t during writing time, just a random moment passing in the hallway- I should say an exciting moment! There had been many times when students shared their writing with the class, but just adding that tiny treat and making it more of a celebration had made it memorable. I was thrilled to find that out!

The powerpoints of the fifth grade “I Am From” poems were finally complete, so this week both classes had writing celebrations. Here is my most memorable moment:

His teacher flashed his poem and picture onto the screen. “You’re up, V,” she said. V, with his usual disheveled look, sweater hanging crookedly from his shoulders and hair mussed up, shoved his chair back and stood behind his desk. He held on the back of his chair for a second, then gathering courage, stood straight and tall. In a strong, confident voice, he read his poem. His classmates clapped in surprise, and V’s smile filled the room with light.

Some Facts About Me
By V

I am from big feet, brown eyes, and black hair.
I am from my mom’s homemade burgers, Mom’s pizza, and tacos with chicken
I am from TV, video games, and green grass
I am from water balloon fights, doing experiments, and helping each other
I am from pumpkin pie, apple pie and cheesecake.
I am from the USA, Mexico, and Mendota.
I am from a nice family.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writing Celebration Moments

  1. Inspired by a Starburst comes into my mind as the title of you post! Kudos to you for making the celebration special without a big brass band!

  2. elsie says:

    These are the moments that touch our hearts and keep us coming back day after day. I loved your description of V. His poem allowed him to share a part of him you wouldn’t see by looking at him. Sounds like the year is off to a great start.

  3. janemartyn says:

    Wonderful poem. And I think I’d still do a lot of things for a starburst- they’re the best! 🙂

  4. Jaana says:

    I love these little surprises! These kind of surprises irrigate my soul!

  5. Leigh Anne says:

    Celebrations, no matter how small, are at the heart of writing. I just read a comment from Elsie on Judy’s blog about how comments, small celebrations, shine in her heart.

  6. Linda Baie says:

    I used to do these poems with my middle schoolers-amazing what they are willing to share when the poem structure offers permission. What a treat to see this! And the Starbursts-it seems you’ve given her more than sugar!

  7. jee young says:

    I did I am poems with my fifth grade students as well during our first week of school!! I love hearing their poems. 🙂

Leave a Reply

