A Peaceful Moment

Looking out the tall schoolroom window,
close by I see the rough bark on the thick trunk
and sturdy branches of an old oak tree, its emerald
leaves dangling down, rippling in bursts of early autumn wind.
Just beyond, though out of sight, lies the road,
and I watch a man in a blue T-shirt pedal by on his bicycle and
a couple of cars drive slowly by, heeding the school zone sign.
On the other side of the street stands a red brick church guarded
by a stately fir, bright under the noon-day sun.
A squirrel scurries up the steps that have become worn by the
feet of the faithful over the years, circles the white pillars,
and calmly pauses beside green vines spilling out of a concrete planter.
The white doors are closed, and the steeple is blocked from my view
by the tree outside the window, yet the little church beckons me
to still my rushing thoughts in the midst of the busy day,
pausing as the scampering squirrel did, for a peaceful moment.

sols_6

This entry was posted in faith, reflections, school, SOLSC 2013 Weekly. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Peaceful Moment

  1. Love this–I have a great window in my classroom but I often don’t even take the time to open the blind. This helps me remember why I should!! Thx!

  2. margaretsmn says:

    Love the image you have drawn of your view from the window. Amy needs to read your slice today. She was rushing so much she got a near ticket. We all need these gentle reminders to slow down, look out of the window, and breathe. Thanks.

  3. Thanks for sharing this — love all the details and it made me slow down both my breath and my thoughts just reading it. What a picture perfect moment.

  4. arjeha says:

    We all need to take the time to just stop and be aware of what is going on around us. With all of the craziness in everyday life we don’t tend to do this very often. What a pity. There is so much that we miss. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Terje says:

    My classroom window faces a brick wall. So sad. I’d love to see a squirrel. I can imagine that taking the moment to observe and record what you saw from your window gave you energy to continue your busy day.

  6. You are phenomenal at the descriptive pieces. I can visualize the whole time in this writing. I love having the windows, especially in my office when I’m sitting in my cozy red chair….slowing down…I need it! xo

  7. Kate Schwarz says:

    Sometimes all it takes for us to slow down is to remind ourselves to look out the window and, well…slow down. (Stopping is out of the question.) I enjoyed this very much!

  8. Yes a God given moment to pause. I felt myself slow down as I was immersed in your descriptive words.

  9. Ruth Ayres says:

    Such strong images leading me to a powerful reminder. I must be still. Thank you.
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

