A Reader Is Born

I had been sitting next to her, listening to her quietly read and use a think aloud strategy to practice test-taking skills in the computer lab. An unlikely setting for an amazing, thrilling, wonderful, heart-warming revelation, wouldn’t you agree?

As she was logging off the computer, she turned to me and said, in a completely serious, oh-so-grown-up voice, “To tell you the truth, Mrs. Anderson, last year I really didn’t like to read.”

She continued, “In the summer, my mom got me some books to read. I just started to pretend and put myself in the story. Now I like reading a lot.” A huge smile broke across her face, lighting up her eyes.

As big as her smile was, mine might have been bigger!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Reader Is Born

  1. margaretsmn says:

    Lovely story. A reader is born. What a thrill to discover!

  2. Donna Smith says:

    That was my favorite part of teaching…that illuminating moment when a first grader realized for the first time that they were reading.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Moments like this make teaching worth all the other stuff!

  4. Dana Murphy says:

    You witnessed the birth of a reader! Wonderful. I’m so glad you captured this memory in words.

  5. To tell you the truth Mrs. Anderson, I love you read your posts.

  6. What a moment. So glad she shared with you and you shared with us!

  7. An unlikely place for that kind of realization, indeed. But, I’m so glad she had it & that you shared it with us today.

  8. MaryHelen says:

    I love how she shared that she pretends in the story. Yeah! What an awesome moment to capture and remember.

  9. elsie says:

    Oh yes, this is a moment for a happy dance. May she continue to love the reading.

  10. Jaana says:

    Here is to many more revelations like these this year!

  11. elle1955 says:

    These are the moments.

Leave a Reply

