Through the Window

slice of lifeI stand at the kitchen sink,
Hands in suds, busy washing dishes-
Mind free to wander, and think.

I gaze out the window,
Eyes roaming over the fields,
Brilliant white, covered with snow.

The horses step gingerly,
Then, with wild abandon, one
Drops and rolls around joyfully.

How long has it been?
How long will it be,
Until I seize such joy again?

A lone tree stands
With branches stretched out
As if it were guarding the land.

I see beauty in its simplicity
And ponder how to fill my life
With that tranquility.

The setting sun
Glows golden and red
As the day’s work is done.

I reflect on the day-
I count my blessings
And gratefully pray.

This entry was posted in home and family, poems, reflections, SOLSC 2014 Weekly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Through the Window

  1. Kim K says:

    I love your form and the subject of your poem. It flows so nicely. I struggle with word choice in my poems and fall on free verse so often.

  2. Lynn says:

    Very very nice! I know it’s crazy but I love to wash dishes and feel the warm suds on my hands…and yes one’s mind can roam free…

  3. glimpse of something says:

    It’a amazing when I start to think about how long it has been since I have had a moment like that. Such a great use of vocabulary, makes me feel like I am right there.

  4. Lovely imagery.
    Bernadette

  5. It has been only two weeks since your sister’s husband died. I can imagine it is hard to think of having wild joy like your horse in the snow.
    I felt the sadness in the poem. Your word choices were soft and gentle. Strong images of the lone tree and the setting sun. I felt like Jesus was the tree.
    Praying for you and a big virtual hug.
    xo
    Pamela

  6. margaretsmn says:

    Your images speak volumes here…sadness and pondering, longing for joy. Keep watching and writing…healing will come.

  7. Jaana says:

    There is sadness, but there is also such hope; blessings are present even in the middle of struggles. Press on!

  8. Ramona says:

    When I see a poem in your post, I know I must stop by. I love the image of you washing dishes, mind free to wander and think. So much to ponder here. Blessings to you as you seek for solace in prayer.

Leave a Reply

