Serendipity in the Morning:SOLSC2014

I faced another bone-chilling morning. I gathered my things, trying to get out the door a few minutes early. I expected a layer of frost I would have to scrape off the windshield and back window of the car. I dreaded the task.

I stepped outside to a blast of cold, but I was surprised as I approached the car. I didn’t see any icy whiteness.

My eyes were drawn up to a dark but clear blue sky, the stars scattering their brightness across the expanse. The crescent moon and a single bright star hung suspended in the lacy frame of the bare branches of the maple trees.

My expectations for the day changed in an instant. Finding such beauty, how could I feel anything less than utter gratitude?

This entry was posted in reflections, SOLSC March 2014, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Serendipity in the Morning:SOLSC2014

  1. Oh I could see the scene and I, too am grateful. Way to notice and remind me to do it as well.

  2. Jaana says:

    Beautiful! You are a master at describing the beauty around you!

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Such a vivid description – just beautiful!

  4. Ramona says:

    Love your description of that “…single bright star hung suspended in the lacy frame of the bare branches of the maple trees.” Breathtaking post!

  5. I went from grumpy to grateful as I read your words and felt I was right there with you. What a beautiful way to start your day!

  6. Deb Day says:

    This was beautiful. Loved your description of the moon and the star…seems like they were your frost!

  7. elsie says:

    Who needs photos when you can create a picture with your words. Sweet way to start the month.

  8. Pooh Hodges says:

    I am always grateful when I see that the snow has melted. I haven’t been outside in days. Your descriptions are beautiful. I felt like I was there.
    All the best,
    xo
    Pooh

  9. Paul says:

    It’s heading down to -33 tonight in my neck of the woods, and I find beauty in this — beauty in the sheer power of the sky, the air — so this is a topical post for me. “Lacy frame” is MAGNIFICENT. 🙂

Leave a Reply

