“Snice”:SOLSC2014

The weather forecasters coined a new phrase this morning- “Snice”- a combination of snow and ice. That’s what is expected to fall throughout the day. That’s what I found cleaning off the car and driveway so I could go to church today. Thankfully, the ice was a very thin layer. Still, the drive was a challenge. I gripped the steering wheel tightly, gritted my teeth, and proceeded slowly, very slowly. The snow on the road was a mix of white, dirty brown, and green (the salt treatment). Ruts were beginning to form as vehicles passed through, but it was quite slushy, and as I went along the little sliding car lighted up frequently in warning on the dashboard. I had my doubts about making it when I had to get up a hill. I felt the car slowing down, pressed the gas ever so gently, and I kept going. Appropriately, I said a prayer of thanks when I pulled into the church parking lot.

They can all it “snice” if they want, but that sounds way too close to ” ‘s nice” for me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Snice”:SOLSC2014

  1. Ashley Dawn says:

    “Snice”- an interesting weather word. Glad you made it to church!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    Ha-what people do to make us happy is a wonder. Love your ending!

  3. Ramona says:

    Snice – a new word for me. Bravo for venturing out. We had a snowy Sunday recently and I stayed in, church holiday for me. I’m not an experienced driver in these conditions, so your words created the same anxiety that I feel anytime we get a bit of snow. Glad you arrived safely.

  4. Happy you navigated the SNICE! I trust being at church revived your spirit!

  5. Jaana says:

    You are a brave soul (or maybe faithful would be a better choice of words). I have stayed home at least a couple of Sundays this winter because of the weather. This morning I had to shovel a bit and dig out my car, but fortunately no ice (just snow). Thankful that you are safe with a richer vocabulary!

  6. elsie says:

    I’m glad that you arrived safely and church was still being held. Most of the churches around here cancelled their services. Of course it could have been due to the fact the highway department requested people to stay off the road today and tomorrow. All the colleges have cancelled already.

  7. Sarah Parker says:

    I’m glad you made it to church. I am not looking forward to snice latter this week here.

Leave a Reply

