For Crying Out Loud in a Bucket

This slice is probably a repeat. That’s OK, I guess, since the event that inspires it is repeated way too many times for me, even if it only happens twice a year. Have you guessed? It’s the time change. The story comes from my fifth grade teacher, one of those “characters” who pass through your life occasionally and create unique, funny memories. Her favorite saying was “for crying out loud in a bucket” which was elicited by anything she didn’t happen to like very much, such as students misbehaving or ideas that didn’t make sense according to her standards. Another justification for the repeat telling of the story is the need to practice this particular writing craft…delivering a punchline. It’s not that easy, whether it’s in telling a joke, or writing one down. Mrs. A. told the story so well, with just the right tone of voice to convey her own outrage at the notion that we could really manipulate time.

There once was a very tall Indian who had a problem. It went on for a very long time, and it really aggravated him. His blanket was too short. Every night, when he went to sleep in his tepee, his feet would stick out of the end of it. Finally, he came up with a solution. He cut a foot off the top of the blanket and sewed it to the bottom!

I suppose if Mrs. A. were here today, she would find a way to tell the story without reference to any particular ethnic group. That part is just a sign of the times. She loved everybody. Her jokes were never meant to hurt or offend anyone. Often she would be the object of her jokes herself.

Good luck reclaiming your “lost” hour, everyone!

This entry was posted in memories, school, SOLSC March 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to For Crying Out Loud in a Bucket

  1. dogtrax says:

    Please repeat the telling of the story
    so that I can hear it again
    from another angle.
    The first time, my ear was bent to the ground
    The second time, my mind was wandering around
    The third time, I heard something strange, a sound
    of the story escaping me and so, I really must ask you
    to repeat the telling of the story.

    -Kevin
    PS — Sunday morning line lifting

  2. Ramona says:

    Your line about teacher “characters” is going into my notebook. Great idea for a day when I’m stumped for a slice. Came home from my retreat sleep deprived. Planned to spend the extra hour in bed – fool my body and accept the new time. Fatal mistake, sitting down at the computer to click on a few slices!

  3. Ramona says:

    Oops, still sleep deprived, meant to say planned to spend an extra hour in bed!

  4. Jaana says:

    I think I will follow Ramona’s example and start a section in my notebook for “teacher characters.” Perhaps I will also borrow your friend’s favorite saying “for crying out loud in a bucket” to get my students’ attention at the perfect time.

  5. arjeha says:

    Who hasn’t had a teacher character? I wonder how many of us will be one of our students’ teacher character.

  6. I love the saying “For crying out loud in a bucket.” I to remember many “Character” teachers!

  7. elsie says:

    The teachers you remember are the ones who were characters in some way. It’s good to remember.

  8. Pingback: Time Change Tired | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

