She Took It

She took it. She was not retrieving a lost possession. She sneaked into an empty classroom and took it. It was not hers, but she put it in her pocket. She kept it there, hidden.

The class went out to recess. She showed it to some friends, making sure the teacher didn’t see. She added lying to her offenses. The others knew she shouldn’t have it out of her backpack at school, but no one said anything. Now she had accomplices.

Back in class, the jig was almost up. A choo-choo sound was heard once. But it stopped. The teacher passed it off as something someone had stowed in their backpack. Supposed to be off during school hours, but allowed.

After school, it was still in her pocket. She went to daycare. She must have thought she had pulled it off. She took it out of her pocket. This time, she wasn’t even being sneaky. But the adult in charge knew she had never had it before. He took it away. He called the school. It took very little investigation to discover the owner and piece the story together.

She kept lying. Even when the accomplices admitted their part. Until they played back the hallway security video that showed her entering and leaving the empty classroom. (She had been on her way to the classroom where she is a teacher’s helper in the mornings before school when she took her fateful detour.) She was caught, but still defiant. Seemingly sorry only to be caught.

When the smart phone was returned to its owner, she had left a “selfie” in the picture file.

She is only nine years old.

This entry was posted in school, SOLSC March 2014, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to She Took It

  1. Lisa says:

    So disappointing when this stuff happens, isn’t it? I used to work in a school where I had to lock my door behind me every time I left. I had to carry a key around my neck all the time. I hated it.

  2. This is so heartbreaking because usually there is something behind the lying. There usually is an even sadder story that makes a 9 year old so defiant in thievery. Something that makes her think taking what she wants is acceptable. Something that makes her believe a thing will fulfill her needs. Atleast that has been my experience. I hope there is a path for redemption for her, a way to earn back trust because I think that is important to model, too.

  3. Delighted says:

    I’m not sure why…but I sensed that it was a phone. Probably because I fear that this will happen to me someday. So glad that it was returned!

  4. arjeha says:

    How sad and what a commentary on the state of the world today. I wonder how her parents/guardians brushed it off.

  5. elsie says:

    Some kids just make you wonder what they are thinking. I do agree with Kim. It is so sad to be this way at this early age.

  6. Amanda says:

    My heart breaks over this whole situation, which you’ve shared so beautifully here. The simple sentences are perfect. They convey youth, but I also get the feeling that you need to talk about this slowly. Simply. As if longer sentences are too much. And the objectivity of it all – as if reporting it from above. It works, and also leaves me with questions.

    Amanda – ELA 101

  7. pompitice says:

    I can tell you that the word “disappointed” was used frequently in speaking with the child. Mostly because it was very effective when my father said it to me. Unfortunately, this behavior seems to be a sickness that has reached epidemic behavior in today’s children. The disease could be called “Entitledidis” and for some reason it crosses all socioeconomic boundaries. The richest to the poorest believe that if they want it, they should have it and for some, it doesn’t matter how that is achieved. Don’t worry, I believe there is a cure and with prayer and pushing accountability we can survive this disease.

Leave a Reply

