Since It’s Mine…

Tonight I took my mom and her friend (both in their 80’s) to our friends’ home for dinner. As we drove back to drop V off at her duplex in the senior community where she lives, we passed the house where she lived most of her adult life. This last year, she passed the house on to her only daughter and downsized. In a wistful voice, she said, “There’s my house. Nobody’s home.”

My mom commented, “V really misses her house.” V’s hearing is not that good, but she knows when someone is talking about her, so Mom had to repeat the sentiment.

V chided herself, “Well, I don’t have any right to complain. I have a nice place.” Dramatic pause…then, in a querulous tone, “But since it is mine, I guess I’ll just complain whenever I feel like it.”

This entry was posted in home and family, SOLSC March 2014, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Since It’s Mine…

  1. Ramona says:

    I think she’s entitled to miss her house. Love this little glimpse of your evening. Wish I could have spent more years with my mom and her friends.

  2. Jaana says:

    These are the memories that will carry you through the future times. It is good to remember them.

Leave a Reply

