A Lincoln Continental?

My sister is a horse lover. This love started early. My mother says she loved her “hobby horse” so much she would often fall asleep atop it. When she was still in elementary school, she talked our uncle into buying her a horse. This horse had to be boarded, and my sister practically moved away from home to spend time with her horse. She persevered in spite of the fact that she was allergic, and when she first started spending time around the hay and the horses she would get hives. One day, her time at the farm was almost fatal. She fell into an egg pit (where all the broken or rotten eggs were thrown away, a hole in the ground) and nearly drowned in the muck.

When that first horse died, it was a long time before she owned another. She was an adult and married before she had her own horse again. When our grandmother passed away, she left each of us a small inheritance. It was enough for my sister to get a horse, named Rosie, in honor of Grandma Rose. A lot of horses have come and gone since Rosie. My sister is kind of a horse trader. She sometimes buys “projects” and keeps them until they are healthy and well-trained and then sells them. She’s always looking for that dream horse. She will think she has found it, then something will happen (like getting bucked off and taking an ambulance ride to the hospital or a chase after someone who has broken through the fence) and the wanna be is traded.

For a while now, she has had only two horses. Two that she claims she will always keep. One is my daughter’s horse, Cowboy. The other, Zippy, belonged to a friend of my sister who died. She had always said she wanted my sister to have that horse. My sister loves them both and has been satisfied with just the two for a long time.

One horse she has never been interested in, though, is the Tennessee Walker. Or any gaited horse. But in her circle of horse people, gaited horses have become popular. When they are all trail riding (often, when the weather is warm) she always has to hold her horse back. It results in a tiring ride. A friend recently got wind of a Tennessee Walker that was going for a bargain price and convinced her it was time to try one.

They went and brought the horse to my sister’s place last weekend. It spent some time nameless, while my sister tried to decide what name fit him. He is a sleek brown, but he has a white face. Ghost and Casper were rejected instantly. Spirit got a minute’s consideration.

A talk with a friend about what a smooth ride he would be brought out the perfect name…Lincoln. After all, is there a smoother ride than a Lincoln Continental?

This entry was posted in animals, home and family, SOLSC March 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Lincoln Continental?

  1. tammyyoga says:

    I like the way you brought the title in at the end. You really brought me into the world of horses. Nice!

  2. mgminer says:

    I really enjoyed reading about your sister and her love of horses. I was the horse lover in my family, but I’ve never owned one. That would be quite an experience–your daughter is a lucky girl!

  3. I’ve read many of your posts in the last 2 weeks even if I have not commented. I love how you write in that you bring me into the story but do not. usually tell me how the title or the “central message” is determined until the end. I do not like horses, per se, but I love the experiences you describe and the way you make me want to know you and your sister!

  4. I know very little about horses. Now I know more! And I love the name and the reason behind it.

Leave a Reply

