The Books in My Poem

Some background about the books in my poem:

Four of the books are by the same author, Eugenia Price, and include her first published novel, The Beloved Invader. The book is part of a trilogy which also included New Moon Rising. (The third book is Lighthouse.) The trilogy is set in St. Simons Island, Georgia and spans history from post-Revolution through post Civil War. The books capture the beauty and secrets of the South in an old-fashioned romantic story. Beauty from Ashes comes from another trilogy, the Georgia trilogy. The fourth book I used, To See Your Face Again, is part of the Savannah quartet. Her novels included yet another trilogy, the Florida trilogy. The characters and places intertwine in all the novels, and all celebrate the mystique and history of the American South. Eugenia Price also wrote many non-fiction books, including personal memoirs of her home and life on St. Simons Island and books about her writing of the novels. Most of her other non-fiction books are inspirational books for women.

C.S. Lewis’ A Grief Observed is a classic on the subject. Many know Lewis as the author of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, but may not know him as a Christian theologian nor know the story of the marriage of the confirmed English bachelor to American poet Joy Davidman. The marriage was intensely happy and all too brief. Joy died of cancer just four years after they married. Lewis writes of grief in a way that resonates with those who also experience it, addressing the feelings, the longings, and the crisis of faith.

The other book from my poem, Seasons of Reflection, is a one year Bible with daily readings from Old and New Testaments and Psalms or Proverbs. It includes a section on Prayers From the Bible. This book was the basis of a year-long Bible study and prayer group I was part of in my church with my mother and step-father, which makes it even more special to me.

The recent death of my sister’s husband, the month I spent living with her afterwards, followed by the discovery of our mother’s cancer, and now our step sister facing surgery which may result in a cancer diagnosis have all stirred feelings expressed in my poem. As a widow, I am well-acquainted with grief. As a daughter who lost both a father and a step-father, I have known grief. But I also know hope! God is the same, He is there in the deepest grief, and He is here as life goes on.

This entry was posted in poems, reflections, SOLSC March 2014, thoughts on books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Books in My Poem

  1. margaretsmn says:

    I love your ending, the signs of hope. I will continue to keep you in my prayers. I’m happy you are focusing on the blessings. God bless you.

  2. Jaana says:

    These are the words that encourage me each day: “I have known grief. But I also know hope!” Powerful words by powerful books by authors who have all known both grief and hope!

  3. jen b. says:

    I knew when I read your poem that we were connecting. Grief is such a bond agent, and hope is an even greater purpose to share. Blessings to you and your family. The journey is so real, isn’t it? Praying for continued hope and healing into the new you that comes from the experiences of both grief and hope.

  4. arjeha says:

    There is always hope. Where would we be without it? I truly believe that God never gives us more that we can handle. He knows us much better than we know ourselves.

  5. I have read and reread this post (including the spine poem) several times. The poem itself it so powerful, such well-chosen words. Your explanation goes deeper, of course, and I was so moved by the things you shared and the way you shared them. The books you chose reflect who you are, as a reader and as a person. The last paragraph is so honest and open. So many reasons to be discouraged and lost, yet you end with so much hope. I’ll certainly continue to think of you and your family.

Leave a Reply

