Spring Break Plans

Usually when you talk to students at my school about their plans for a break, you hear about going to the park to play, staying overnight with cousins, parties, or maybe a short trip. So I was surprised by the answer I heard to the question today:

Me: Do you have any special plans for break?

Student: Umm, my mom is going to try to find some agents.

Me: (Puzzled look…speechless)

Student: Yea, I went to a Disney audition. I made it through #1, and I made it through #2…but we missed #3. You had to pay $1,000 to go to New York. So my mom is trying to find a new agent.

Me: (stuttering in surprise) Wow, good luck!

I still am shaking my head over that exchange. Guess it will go down as a memorable moment. You never know what kids might say!

This entry was posted in school, SOLSC March 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spring Break Plans

  1. Terje says:

    Wow. I hope the family succeeds in finding an agent and the student gets to go to more auditions.

  2. Ooh, you are getting to know your students so well, aren’t you? Love how you’ve captured your “puzzled silence” in this “drama”

  3. That is why we always ask. Enjoy your delayed vacation, I pray it will exceed your expectations! 🙂

  4. elsie says:

    You never know what’s happening in students’ lives. Interesting possibilities for him.

  5. Jaana says:

    Love these kinds of surprises! You might be mentioned in an Oscar acceptance speech one day!

  6. Ramona says:

    Interesting connection – yesterday a teacher friend showed me photos of her daughter (my former student) modeling in a show in BC. Usually my students are headed for exotic places that I want to visit someday.

  7. margaretsmn says:

    The way you wrote this it sounded very matter of fact. Is that how the student seemed? I would be blown away like you. What? An Agent? For what?

Leave a Reply

