By the Numbers

Nine- the day we were married, the day we celebrated in small ways for the
Twenty six- years we had before
Twenty one- the day he died, leaving behind this life to me and
Three- our children for
Fourteen- years now… We were
Two- who became
One

This entry was posted in home and family, poems, SOLSC 2014 Weekly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to By the Numbers

  1. The love you feel for your spouse come through in your writing. Losing someone you love never becomes easier.

  2. Ramona says:

    My heart aches for the loss of one you so dearly loved. Hugs.

  3. arjeha says:

    Lovely thoughts. Memories are always there to help us when we need them most.

  4. jodieann4 says:

    Very touching… thank you for sharing. I find it comforting that you still feel such strong love after 14 years of being without him. It’s only been 5 months for me, but I fear “forgetting” or losing these feelings with time. Thank you 🙂

  5. elsie says:

    These numbers speak of the life you had together and alone. So much emotion in so few words.

  6. Jaana says:

    I can feel it. Time, longing, love, all of them.

  7. Kris Shrontz says:

    I could feel your melancholy in your voice. I like how you connected numbers to the milestones in your life that you created with your husband. When my son passed away I put significance when I would see certain numbers. I believe they have some meaning we just need to look closely to discover what.

  8. blkdrama says:

    So glad that you can share this with us.

  9. Lisa Keeler says:

    This is such a powerful poem, using numbers to tell so much. I’m sorry for your pain.

Leave a Reply

