Sign of the Seasons

On my way to school, I drive by a Dollar Store. At the start of the school year, it was advertising school supplies

GET YOUR
SCHOOL
SUPPLIES HERE

The sign changed fairly early in September, when it began to advertise:

GET YOUR
HALLOWEEN
CANDY HERE

The sign remained laregely unchanged as the various holidays rolled by, starting in November with: (Thanksgiving rolled by without notice)

GET YOUR
CHRISTMAS
CANDY HERE

Then January: (the New Year didn’t get a mention, either)

GET YOUR
VALENTINE
CANDY HERE

And mid-February:

GET YOUR
EASTER
CANDY HERE

Around Valentine’s Day, I began to wonder what would happen after Easter, when they ran out of holidays with their own candies…after all, they surely wouldn’t be advertsing “Get Your Memorial Day Candy Here.” I knew, though, after all the months of observing the sign, it would only change minimally, and the message would have some longevity. A few days after Easter, I saw the answer. Now the sign proclaims:

GET YOUR
GRILLING
NEEDS HERE

I guess that covers it, till they start over with school supplies…

This entry was posted in random thoughts, SOLSC 2014 Weekly. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sign of the Seasons

  1. Funny the things that catch our attention, isn’t it? I guess the Dollar Store succeeded.

  2. arjeha says:

    Gotta love their marketing person. Keeps you reading just so you don’t miss the change when it happens.

  3. Renae says:

    Ha Ha! I am obsessed with reading signs while I drive so your post caught my attention πŸ™‚ Here in my town, there is a used bookstore that posts fun little sayings on their marquee. Two of my favorites were, “Why didn’t Noah squash that darn mosquito?” and “Is marriage a word or a sentence” πŸ™‚

  4. Jaana says:

    This is funny! I have to start keeping an eye on advertisements I see on my way to work!

  5. Now you have inspired me to notice any revolving ads on my route to work. I pass several bill boards but they do not keep advertising the same thing. This kept me guessing.

Leave a Reply

