State of Confusion

My sister-in-law finally texted me this message…

Sorry for the confusion…you know, that’s the state we live in, the State of Confusion.

A doctor’s office has once again prescribed a medication that is on the allergies list…

This happened in our well-reknowned, award-winning practice… the one with the doctor we trust… the one with the nurses we call angels

Thankfully, we were alert and noticed the mistake before it turned into a trip to the emergency room had someone who didn’t know picked up the medicine and given it…

A cautionary tale for all who help with the medical care for an older family member…

You truly are a citizen in the State of Confusion. Write everything down and refer to the notes often.

This entry was posted in home and family, SOLSC 2014 Weekly. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to State of Confusion

  1. arjeha says:

    This shows how easily mistakes can be made. Good to know someone was alert enough to notice. You are so right, we all should write things down and refer to our notes.

  2. blkdrama says:

    I am remembering our time with doctors and trying to keep everything straight. Still no streamlined medical care and that’s with a doctor/patient. It was hell. State of Confusion- perfect!

  3. Linda Baie says:

    Love that term, “state of confusion” is exactly right. I just spent the past few years caring for my husband and his meds, at least until the nursing home took over, but even then, they told me what was happening, etc. Sometimes it was still such a challenge, especially with different names. So glad you caught the error!

  4. elsie says:

    A great warning to heed. Thanks for reminding me to be alert.

  5. K. Renae P. says:

    Very good advice. And thank goodness you caught the it. Must always be aware.

  6. jhaworthoy says:

    Thanks for the warning. I was fortunate that my mother was not on any medications when she lived with me….and she lived to the age of 90….but I know from friends that medications can react with one another…and then there are the allergies. It is good to check…and your post is a great reminder.
    Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  7. I love your STATE of CONFUSION line. I too am the caretaker for my elderly mother and aunt…keeping their health concerns and finances up to the minute is more than a full time job! I am GLAD you caught this contraindication in time!

Leave a Reply

