In Remembrance

The moment arrived abruptly
We gathered…we wept
Arrangements were made
The news spread

Family and friends came
There were tears…there were hugs
Memories were shared
Comfort offered

We all joined together
Sang hymns…lifted up prayers
Loving tributes were spoken
A final good-bye

Now I am alone
Remembering…longing
Trying to understand
A grieving heart

Time will pass
Acceptance…hope
Love complete
Death conquered by Life

In loving memory of my Dear Mother, 1932-2014

This entry was posted in faith, home and family, memories, poems, reflections, SOLSC 2014 Weekly. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In Remembrance

  1. Lynn says:

    What a beautiful memory for your mom! Hold on to the years of memories that fill your heart . . . and remember she is always there with you . . .

  2. margaretsmn says:

    Beautifully crafted poem. I know it doesn’t take away the pain, but know that your heart is touching someone else’s.

  3. Julie Crain says:

    Love that last line – Death conquered by life. A perfect tribute to your Mom. Sending you a hug.

  4. Time WILL pass. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I hope your writing of these beautiful words was helpful to you in your journey. They certainly spoke to me.

  5. Leigh Anne says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your mother. I hope you find comfort and healing through your writing.

  6. Renae says:

    Such a beautifully transcendent poem! Thank you for sharing with us! I hope your writing helps you through the toughest days!

  7. arjeha says:

    What a lovely poem and tribute to your mother. People pass, but memories last. Hope happy memories help you through this time in your life.

  8. Jaana says:

    Beautiful! You honor your mother with this poem!

  9. elsie says:

    Your poem hit home, I just loss my father last week. I’ve lived your words, except for being alone. Thankfully I still have my mother, for now. I just could find the words this week.

    • newtreemom says:

      Sorry for your loss. Even as adults, the loss of a parent is so keenly felt. Words are hard to find. I could have said feeling alone. I still have my son and daughters, my sisters and brothers, and my church family and friends who are all precious and supportive. But the loss of your mother is such a feeling of loneliness.

  10. Sending a hug and prayers through a difficult transition. I know you will be held by our God of all comfort! Blessings

Leave a Reply

