Outside the City

I drove out to my sister’s in rural Indiana this afternoon. It isn’t far from the city, really- just a 45 minute drive. The scenery, though, is so different.

Corn stalks in the fields
stand taller than me,
Lush emerald rows of
soybeans hug the land,
Traffic slows as giant farm
machines cross the roads,
Signs sing the virtues of
home-grown produce and brown eggs,
Farmhouses, red barns and white
wooden churches still dot the landscape,
Horses and cows roam
the pastures,
An owl perched serenely on
a telephone wire.

My soul was refreshed
by the beauty.

This entry was posted in SOLSC 2014 Weekly. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Outside the City

  1. Tara Smith says:

    So much to savor – I loved the poetic form your noticings took. Just lovely.

  2. Cathy Mere says:

    I felt like I was driving down the road with you.

    Cathy

  3. The breath of fra hair sounds so relaxing…thank you for the beautifully noticed details!

  4. Your words helped me ride along with you. Ah! The fresh air and the quiet sounds of growing. My soul is refreshed, too.

  5. Paul says:

    Color and personification are the keys to vividness here! Excellent! I’d love to see where an entire poem about the owl would go… šŸ™‚

  6. Ramona says:

    Missed this last week, but your post on 7/29 sent me back. I love the verbs you chose. These images refreshed my soul too! This one goes in my writer’s notebook to inspire me.

Leave a Reply

