Golden Books

Were some of the first books on your bookshelves, like mine, Little Golden Books? In my early childhood days, they sold for just 25 cents…although the price started going up- in 1962, it was raised to 29 cents. Now the books are around $3.99- still a bargain! Today I got a copy of Everything I Need to Know I Learned from a Little Golden Book by Diane Muldrow. Of course, the first thing I did was open it to write my name inside the cover where it says “This Little Golden Book belongs to _________.” Then I took a trip down memory lane, revisiting old friends like the Poky Little Puppy, the Tawny Scrawny Lion, and the Shy Little Kitten and coming across some friends I didn’t remember meeting like Pantaloon and the Sailor Dog. They are all here in this book to give humorous and practical life advice. And as you turn the pages, you will realize how many great children’s authors you probably first met in the pages of Little Golden Books. Your heart will be warmed by some of the sweet recommendations, such as “frolic,” “stargaze,” and “stroll.” Even the admonitions are gentle- “Look up… and savor the seasons as they roll around.” There is some sage advice, “Work hard” and “Play hard”-and encouragement, “Believe…that your ship will come in. As long as you do, your life is bound to be Golden!”

If you, like me, first knew these books in your mom’s voice, then your own “I can read it myself” voice… if you later read them to siblings, then to the kids you baby sat… and eventually your own children, and grandchildren, too, you will enjoy this Golden Book. Look for it here.

This entry was posted in memories, SOLSC 2014 Weekly, thoughts on books. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Golden Books

  1. elsie says:

    Those Golen Books started many on the road to being a life-long reader. They do bring memories.

  2. arjeha says:

    Ah, Golden Books. What great memories they bring back.

  3. anita says:

    Ah…I remember…..those were found in the grocery store and IF you had been very specially good for a long time….just maybe….for me it was Dolls of Another Land….One morning, Kimoko woke up early and put on her robe and slippers…….I had very few books but I knew EVERY word….thanks for the trip down memory lane – long ago…

  4. Ramona says:

    I’ve saved some favorites to share with grandchildren someday. This phrase, “Look up… and savor the seasons as they roll around,” may have inspired me to choose savor as my OLW last year. I got this book last year as a Christmas gift from a friend and hadn’t noticed until you shared that line that “savor” was in this fun book! The illustrations definitely transport me to an earlier time and a younger me!

  5. Lisa Keeler says:

    I love your post and the memories it brings back. Thank you for writing and sharing this.

Leave a Reply

