Winter Driving

The dark road glistens-
Is it icy or just wet?
A tense drive to work

Raindrops melt the snow,
Puddles spread across the road-
A splashy drive home

This entry was posted in poems, SOLSC March 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Winter Driving

  1. This poem perfectly describes the drive I just had home with my daughter. It was a bit tense.

    Hope you’re cozy and warm now.

  2. arjeha says:

    We had this same drive coming down I 81 this afternoon. I was sure glad to get home.

  3. MarauderErin says:

    This is exactly how I felt driving around today. Ice? Wet? Eek!

  4. Samantha Marquardt says:

    We had snow and sleet in Wisconsin today. I hope you are home safely.

  5. cshuler says:

    We were out of school yesterday due to snowy roads, back at school today, but looking like we may be off again tomorrow due to more snow and sleet coming in late tonight. Gotta love Missouri weather!
    I love haikus. They say so much with so little! Great job!

  6. barbarasut says:

    Love that you’re doing haiku. I receive one once a day on my email. Are you interested in joining the daily haiku site?
    https://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/sol15-day3/

  7. I also wrote a poem to describe today’s crazy weather! How funny!! As I drive in this crazy winter weather, I often think the same things about those winter roads. Bring on spring!!

    Jennifer

  8. Lori Sheroan says:

    Your poem created an image that will stick with me this week as more winter weather moves into my neck of the woods. Thank you for sharing!

  9. Tara Smith says:

    Yes, that is a tension inducing question – I’ll take wet over icy any day.

  10. Didn’t you love those puddles on the way home? So squishy and not slick at all. At another time we would have regretted the rain, but it is SO much better than ice. Great poem!

  11. Leigh Anne says:

    Within 24 hours we will have had ice, fog, rain, and snow…only in Indiana. Love your poem. Reading these tempt me to dabble in it a little. Good luck with ISTEP. We start tomorrow…providing we don’t get the snow they are calling for. 😦

  12. blkdrama says:

    It’s dangerous out there. Can’t wait to get away next week. I’m over the white. Color, here I come.
    I’ll take you along…

  13. Pamela Hodges says:

    Love the repetition
    A tense drive
    A splashy drive
    And the contrast, between ice and puddles
    And I know the puddles were spreading, but it made me think of a smile spreading.
    From anxious to playful, the contrast between the two stanzas creates a nice tension.
    So nice to read your writing again.
    xo
    Pamela

  14. debbussewitz says:

    Wild driving home today after a sunny dry morning You captured the changes happening in this month in many places in our country. Love reading your work.
    ~Deborah

  15. msikking says:

    I love the use of the word glistens. The change from icy to splashy says so much about the changes in weather that can happen quickly. Thanks for the great read!

Leave a Reply

