Fifteen Word Poem

Without an idea for writing today, I knew I would find inspiration if I started reading slices. I came to Leigh Anne’s picture prompt and the poem she posted on her blog today.

 

Here are the picture and instructions, from Laurie Purdie Salas

“Look at the picture, brainstorm three things the pictures makes you think of or reminds you of, and write a quick poem of 15 words or less (not counting the title). It does not have to describe the picture. It does not have to rhyme. Most importantly, it does not have to be “good.” Don’t put pressure or expectations on yourself. This is just a creative exercise!”


glasses

Here’s an introduction:

If you have ever been associated with the military, you know they have acronyms for everything. Some are official and others are just created by service members (especially the young guys and girls) to describe some of the annoyances/perks of military life. One of the latter came to mind for some reason (who knows how the mind works?!) when I looked at the picture. I  heard it when my husband was in the Air Force in the 70s.

And my poem:

Government Issue Glasses

BCDs*- free glasses
so ugly, guaranteed to keep
the girls
far, far away from you

* In case you haven’t figured it out, the acronym for the glasses, BCD- stood for “birth control device!” There’s even a reference to this in Wikipedia, complete with pictures of the ugly things.

This entry was posted in poems, random thoughts, SOLSC March 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fifteen Word Poem

  1. arjeha says:

    Love it. As I posted on Leigh Anne’s site, I really like this idea and will have to try it sometime. I have seen people wearing those glasses and the acronym is right on. 🙂

  2. Julie says:

    Loved your poem! Very clever!

  3. elsie says:

    Now this made me laugh! I had no idea what BCD was (so glad you included the explanation). I will have to check out Leigh Anne’s poem now. Love the way the mind thinks!

  4. Leigh Anne says:

    This is hilarious! I love to see how people think differently with the same prompt. I think I will try it again next Thursday!

  5. Jaana says:

    I have to try this as well! BCD?? Glad you gave an explanation!

  6. The limitation of words enhances the challenge. Every words must pull its weight. There is no room for passengers. No junk words here. Well done on meeting the expectations. Good fun with poetry. It’s all about word play…

Leave a Reply

