Phone Calls

I come into the house
Set everything down
And then I notice that
Little yellow light
Blink, blink, blinking,
And the thought starts-
Maybe it’s..
But before the words
Are fully formed
I feel a knot in my stomach
Because I know
It is not

There’s something I’d
Like to talk over
I think about
Picking up the phone
But before my hand
Reaches for it
I feel a knot in my stomach
Because I know
I can’t call

It was a daily part of life
I called her or
She called me…
Want to come over?
I’ve made a country supper…
Want to go shopping?
I’ve got a 30% off coupon…
How was your day?
Seems like a long time
Since you were here…
Were the roads clear?
Just wanted to make sure
You got home OK…

Mom,
I miss you, and
I miss those calls…

This entry was posted in home and family, memories, poems, SOLSC March 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Phone Calls

  1. Carrie Horn says:

    Oh, this was heartwarming to me.

  2. Morgan says:

    Beautiful tribute and you capture the specifics (the knot, the country supper, the 30% off coupon) in a way that connects with a universal emotion even when I can only relate to the coupon.

  3. carolmcbroom says:

    So beautiful! And so perfect! I remember those blinking lights and wanting to just pick up the phone and call a missing loved one. You captured those feelings- that quick moment when there is hope and then dashed when you realize it won’t happen.

  4. MaryHelen says:

    My heart ached with you at the ends what wonderful memories you have. A lovely, honoring poem.

  5. smcninch says:

    I have a tearful smile and a lump in my throat. I can truly connect with this. I am sorry for your loss, no matter how long or how new.

  6. Pingback: Some of My Favorite Writing from 2015 | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

