Fog

I left the house this morning feeling a little nervous and worried. Was the drive to school going to be another nail-biter? The morning news was full of warnings about low visibility due to dense fog in the area. There had been a chain reaction accident on the interstate that caused two fatalities. There was a list of school delays, though most were in the outlying areas around the city.

As I pulled out of the driveway, I was enveloped in a thick cloud of fog. But I could see reasonably well. It was a little harder to see and avoid the potholes, even though recent experience has taught me where to avoid some of them. When I merged onto the interstate, I was extra cautious. Traffic was flowing well, just a little slower than usual.

I noticed something odd, though. There appeared to be several low-flying planes. It appeared they were coming in for a landing, but I was no where near the airport. It took a few seconds for my brain to catch on to what I was seeing. The tall poles of the lights along the interstate had disappeared into the fog, leaving the lights suspended high above. These light poles have six lights arranged in a circle. Depending on the curve and rise of the road, they did appear convincing as low-flying planes or hovering alien spaceships.

Traffic slowed and became more congested near the downtown area. An ambulance coming from behind created some confusion. On the side street as I turned toward school, I caught the biggest pothole…again. Overall, it wasn’t as bad as the news/weather reports made me fear. I arrived at school only slightly more frazzled than usual.

This entry was posted in SOLSC March 2015, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fog

  1. jodimahoney says:

    I could feel your nerves in your story. You did a nice job building the tension you felt. I’m glad you arrived safely.

  2. Great writing! I felt like I was traveling along beside you.

  3. Jennifer says:

    I like your description of the lights in the fog. I’ve often thought that those lights could be the subject of a photographer’s project…the way they create arcs in the night sky. Your description solidifies my thoughts of how those lights could be made into art.

  4. arjeha says:

    I am not a fan of driving in fog either. Then you get someone in a gray car who doesn’t turn the lights on. Talk about a ghost car!

  5. elsie says:

    Fog does change the look of everything. Even familiar streets become foreign in the fog. Love the description of the lights and how they looked like planes. I know what you mean. Glad you made it safely.

  6. “It took a few seconds for my brain to catch on to what I was seeing. ” That is exactly how it is driving in fog. You crafted this so it does feel like we are driving there with you. Thankful you made it safely and laughed at your last sentence.

Leave a Reply

