The Arts at Midnight

Sometimes I am awake later than I should be. (Like this week of the time change, being alternately exhausted or wakeful at night!) Midnight comes and I click the TV to PBS and set the sleep timer to watch or listen to Classic Arts Showcase. It is full of short excerpts of great performances from symphonies, ballet, opera, theater, and film. Like a good book can do, this program can transport you to new worlds and experiences. Sometimes a piece of calming music is being played, and I am lulled to sleep long before the sleep timer expires. Sometimes there is a fascinating interview that offers new insight into an artist or art form. Often I am drawn to simply enjoy the performance for its beauty and spirit. Sometimes I start thinking “deep” thoughts as I guess one only does when it is so late at night. I wonder, for example, what if, when I was a child, I had seen live performances of great ballerinas? I had ballet lessons but I never saw a real ballet performed. If someone who loved opera had introduced me to it, and I had heard the great singers of the world and understood the stories of their operas, would I have a greater appreciation of opera today? What if I had been able to try film-making, especially making movies of some of the stories I wrote? Then I think of my students, and how little arts education they get, in spite of the valiant art and music teachers who try to give them some of these experiences. This thinking keeps me awake some nights. Mostly, though, my late night lessons in the arts are enriching and enjoyable. I just need to record them to watch in the daytime and get my sleep at night!

This entry was posted in random thoughts, school, SOLSC March 2015, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Arts at Midnight

  1. freegriffa says:

    It’s true it’s so easy to get lost down the rabbit hole of self doubt and “what ifs” so late at night! I find myself hiding under my covers , iPhone in hand, entering free book giveaways on Goodreads or playing a mindless game of Ticket to Ride, or worse, shopping on EBay for toys I remember from childhood, just to gasp at their prices “so retro!” 😬

  2. jarhartz says:

    Oh what a pleasure to have such great arts at your fingertips. But the late nights.. ugh. So hard.

  3. newteach929 says:

    oh fun! glad you found a good show to distract you from sleeping – I always stay up too late watching my dramas :p

  4. anita says:

    I too have been in that deep reflective hole this week. I do think it’s the time change playing with our minds. I lay in bed wondering what I should have done to be a better mom, wife, teacher….sigh the list was long….I finally fell asleep exhausted by what I had not yet done with my life!

  5. Terje says:

    I think that your choice to watch Classic Arts is much better than tossing and turning in bed. I can relate to your wonderings. I often think what if I had had more music in my childhood would I understand it more.

  6. Raivenne says:

    You are so correct about how little exposure most kids get of the arts. I was excellent in biology, adored dissecting in high school, I myself wondered, had I known a career such as a Forensic Pathologist existed would I have pursued it? As for recording things to watch another time, oh the amount of things on my DVR for exactly this reason, now to find the time during the day to sit and watch!

  7. blkdrama says:

    Sounds just like me. As much as I know its important to see, I come alive with stimulation at night and then I pay for it the next day. Ugh

  8. Kim says:

    I don’t watch much TV, but find if I read in bed, I’m out in 2 minutes flat! Try that next time and see what happens!

  9. arjeha says:

    I can’t think of a better way to get lulled to sleep when sleep won’t come. I would probably have a hard time falling asleep because I would want to watch what was happening.

  10. tammyyoga says:

    Love your musings…sounds like great programing…and much better than worrying about things.

  11. I love your wonderings. It makes me wonder also, and a bit sadly, what we are missing with our negligence in arts education. What great talents are being overlooked through a lack of nurture? Unfortunately we may never know. But I do know that the world is a more beautiful place when the arts are in place. PS I hope your sleep patterns improve, too!

Leave a Reply

