A Reminder: Life is Short

My daughter got some news about a high school friend today. Just twenty years old, slightly younger than my daughter, he died suddenly, unexpectedly, of heart failure. He was a funny and talented guy. Throughout his years in orchestra, he was always either first or second chair in the violins. One year at contest, I somehow ended up as keeper of the coats in the practice room. For awhile, I was there with only him. Oh, my, he talked a mile a minute, and then realized he needed to practice his piece one more time. He played just as furiously as he had been talking.

My daughter would laugh telling the story of lunchtime conversations when they would be talking about orchestra one second, and in the next he would veer off to a totally unrelated topic. He was in the group of ten friends that my daughter went to senior prom with. My daughter’s boyfriend (who she knew only as a friend of a friend of a friend in high school- they began dating at college) has known him since they were in fifth grade. He graduated eighth in a class of over 700. He was a junior studying business at the university. A bright future was ahead for him. But in an instant, he is gone.

A reminder to cherish each life that touches yours, however briefly. To stay in touch with friends. To tell others how they have touched you. To take every opportunity to encourage others. To let them know you care. To share laughter and fun. To talk about important things. To listen. To know their story.

No matter the number of years… Life. is. short.

This entry was posted in memories, reflections, SOLSC March 2015, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Reminder: Life is Short

  1. BSoltero says:

    So sorry to hear this, especially to someone so young! Sounds like he lived a life full of laughter and fun. Thinking of you and your daughter during this rough time.

  2. mgminer says:

    I wish you comfort in your memories. Losing a young friend is one of life’s hardest challenges. My deepest sympathy.

  3. Gael Lynch says:

    Oh…my heart goes out to you and your daughter, and to the parents of this young man. Always a reminder to cherish the ones we love and to live each day as if it is our last. I’ll be thinking of you all…

  4. Morgan says:

    I love how you punctuate the last line. It communicates your message and your grief so perfectly. I am sorry for you, your daughter, and all those who are missing him tonight. I’m glad you preserved his memory here.

  5. Lori says:

    He sounds like a remarkable young man. I pray for his family and friends in his passing.

  6. God bless him!!! He touched many lives in a short while! My condolences to your daughter.

  7. I am sorry for such a shocking loss. Sending a prayer for his family! Thank you for sharing your memories of him.

  8. Peg D says:

    How sad! God be with his family and friends. Thank you for the important reminder.

  9. debbussewitz says:

    I am so sorry. What a loss for a community. Life is precious. Thanks for reminding me of this today.

  10. Ramona says:

    The death of a young person is such a sudden and unexpected loss. Prayers for all affected by his death and hope for all of us to cherish life. Every. single. day.

  11. Pingback: Young and Old | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

