Let Your Sadness Dwell in Your Heart

Recent experiences of loss and reading expressions of grief from some other writers this month had me thinking of a poem I wrote in a slice some time ago, “Let Your Sadness Rise,” which you can read by clicking here. Today I wrote another poem on the same theme.

The sadness for
all those I have lost
with such finality
to death
dwells in my heart

Yet at times
that sadness
preys on my mind-
I think about
how it used to be
when they were here
and I long to
go back to that time
instead of
being in the now

If the sadness
stays on my mind
rather than
in my heart
the gentle melancholy
turns to
dark and dismal
depression

But when the sadness
dwells in my heart
the joy dwells there, too-
joy of remembering
joy of the years
together
joy of all they
added to my life

And when the sadness
dwells in my heart
peace and purpose
dwell there, too
and I see the beauty
of each present moment
and know I belong here
in the now
still

This entry was posted in memories, poems, SOLSC March 2015, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Let Your Sadness Dwell in Your Heart

  1. Lori Sheroan says:

    Thank you for sharing both these beautiful and meaningful poems. I really needed to read them today, so I’m so glad I was drawn to your post.

    • newtreemom says:

      It is one of the many good things about Slice of Life…as we read words from each other, we often find just what we need at a given moment. It is a great community to be part of.

  2. arjeha says:

    Two lovely poems. You are so right. Dwelling on sadness can lead to depression, but remembering the joy of those no longer with us lifts up our hearts.

  3. margaretsmn says:

    Aw, the last verse got me. Keep holding on with your heart. You spread love and gentleness with your words.

  4. The short lines of your poem
    helped me read it thoughtfully.
    Very nice writing.

  5. mbhmaine says:

    Such beautiful poems. You have to acknowledge and live with the sadness to be able to celebrate the joy. That last stanza is especially powerful with meaningful line breaks. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Totally going to share this in my Fri Bible study. Last week we were talking about joy that resides within pain…I agree that it is heart joy. XO nanc. PS thank you so much g I r your writing

    • newtreemom says:

      Thank you for this encouragement. Knowing our God, having Jesus as Savior, gives us the heart of joy that sustains us, even as the heart is also holding pain.

  7. Ramona says:

    It is hard to lose those we love, but I love your words.
    “But when the sadness
    dwells in my heart
    the joy dwells there, too-”
    Such a wonderful way to view grief and living in the present.

  8. This is so lovely – what a great reminder of the importance of living in our hearts!

  9. Leigh Anne says:

    This is beautiful. Thinking about sadness and joy dwelling together sure is comforting. I hope you found peace in writing this and sharing it with us today.

  10. kdoele says:

    Dwelling in your heart—- you have made me think about these two very different ways to hold sadness. I will remember this. Thank you for causing me to think in a new way. Writing and sharing this was brave.

  11. What deep and powerful reminders! I have just gone through a season of many kinds of loss. So this is timely for me! I stand with you in seeing the beauty of each moment and knowing this present is where God wants me. Blessings always!

  12. elsie says:

    Heartfelt words, warms my heart as I think of my loss this year. How did you know?

Leave a Reply

