Heard in the Lunchline

Pat, pat. She touched my arm to get my attention. She isn’t my student (I have 3rd-6th graders, not K), but she knows I’m a teacher. She sees me each morning at breakfast (my daily duty). “Guess what? I’m going to the skating place on Spring Break.”

“Wow, that sounds like fun!” I say. It is easy to be enthusiastic about that- I used to be at the skating rink every Saturday night in my elementary school days.

Pat, pat. The next student in line wants some attention, too. “Guess what? I’m going to the jumping place on Spring Break.”

“Oh, that will be fun.” I know my daughter really loved jumping on trampolines, so I could easily picture that. Glad I could genuinely be enthusiastic.

Pat, pat. The first kindergartner wanted attention again. “Guess what? I am going to the skating and the jumping place.” After the briefest pause she added, “And Chuck E. Cheese.”

I guess she wanted to make sure she wouldn’t be outdone this time… maybe I was too enthusiastic.

(By the way, I happened to be at lunch with K because we combined all three lunches today. It was a snow make-up day on what was supposed to be the first day of Spring Break. Less than half our students were at school toady. It sure was a quiet day! We had a program this afternoon by “Arts in Learning” featuring “Mundo Beat” that took us on a musical journey through salsa, cha-cha-cha, cumbia, and merengue. A fun send-off to Spring Break!)

This entry was posted in school, SOLSC March 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heard in the Lunchline

  1. marc-aureled says:

    I enjoyed your post and the repetition of the”pat pat”… it is so kindergarten! I teach 5th graders but have lunch duty with the kindergarteners and it is one of the high points of my week. Happy spring break!

  2. elsie says:

    Gotta love those kindergarten kids! They have to tell it all, and some of it is even true. Happy break to you!

  3. anita says:

    happy break! From the mouths of babes we get the most incredible stories….if only thy could write more….but until then, keep those stories coming.

  4. Pat, pat. Guess what? You are on Spring break and you cou…ld go to the skating place AND the jumping place AND Chuck E . Cheese! But I suspect you will enjoy some days of other kinds of R &R! Enjoy and that Arts send off sounds great!

Leave a Reply

