Yum, Yum

My sister and I eat out together fairly often. We both like Mexican restaurants, but there is one food served there that we do not agree on. She finds it tasteless. She can’t stand the texture or the color. If it comes with a dinner she orders, she asks for it on the side. Because I love it! Can you guess what it is? Guacamole!! Actually, I really like avocado however it is served.

At one restaurant we like, they serve a chicken soup with pieces of avocado that is so delicious! Of course my sister never has tried it. She will not even try guacamole with chips. A restaurant near my house has a lunch special- avocado enchiladas. It is so yummy! I had it for lunch today. My sister did not. She likes seafood enchiladas. Yuck.

I ate avocado a lot when we lived in Peru. It was called palta. It was part of the salad at a favorite restaurant, Pardo’s, which served “pollo a al brasa” (rotisserie chicken)and other Peruvian specialties (such as anticuchos- a kebab made with beef heart). The salad had beets, avocado, carrots and green beans with a special dressing.

At home in Lima, our empleada made an egg and avocado salad that was so great for a sandwich to pack for lunch. Now sometimes for a lunch to take to school, I will pack avocado slices and tortillas. Simple and good! It is beyond my sister’s imagination.

Is there a food you love that someone close to you hates?

This entry was posted in home and family, memories, SOLSC March 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yum, Yum

  1. gillis says:

    I feel like the years I lived before avocado were wasted years, what a delicious food. Love it, eat it almost everyday!

  2. elsie says:

    I would like the seafood enchilada with avocado, please. I love seafood, my husband can’t stand it. So I tend to order a lot of fish when we go out since I never get it at home.

  3. Leigh Anne says:

    My sister and I both hate tomatoes! If something I am eating even touches a tomato, I will not eat it! I am quite a picky eater and I have never tasted guacamole because of its looks…I know, I know!

  4. kdoele says:

    Now I’m hungry! I love avocado! Sounds like a great lunch spot!

  5. arjeha says:

    I do enjoy avocados but do not like guacamole. Go figure. Kathy loves it. I, on the other hand love salmon, but Kathy does not.

  6. marc-aureled says:

    I guess avocado is just one of those foods that is divisive. In our family the guys don’t like it which is fine by me because there is more for my daughter and I!

  7. Colleen says:

    I love, love, love, avocado! That salad you described sounds great. Have you tried grapefruit and avocado? It’s a delicious combination!

  8. Yum, yum says it all! Ours is a food loving clan and I can not think of one thing one of us does not like on a consistent basis!

Leave a Reply

