Goodbye, 9010

Your red door welcomed us so cheerfully,
Your living room offered a gracious place for conversation.
The kitchen and its big table set with home-cooked meals beckoned the family to gather around-
The family room was full of comfy spots to sit to talk and laugh.
The back porch swing lulled grandbabies to sleep,
The bedrooms offered a haven for rest for family and friends, too.
The green, green lawn was soft as velvet with trees that started small
and grew, just like our family did through the years…

9010, you were more than a house, you were our HOME, heart of the family…

We all will miss you dearly, we hope you work your magic for your new people…

We have just sold the house our parents built in 1978…how thankful we are for the memories.

This entry was posted in home and family, memories, poems, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Goodbye, 9010

  1. Kimberley says:

    What a lovely poem. I don’t have that experience as my parents moved all the time, but I am trying to build it for my children. Thanks for sharing.

  2. mrsclark6 says:

    I still cry when I go to my home town and drive by my parents’ old house. They lived in it for over 30 years and it was the only home I knew as a child. We had a red door too 🙂

  3. Lynn says:

    Beautiful… Just beautiful I could feel the love!

  4. arjeha says:

    So many happy memories to be found in a home. The nice thing about them is that we can take them wherever we go. I have memories of several houses we have lived in. I only hope that the new owners now create their own wonderful memories.

  5. Leigh Anne says:

    I remember when we sold my childhood house. My parents were getting a divorce and my mom moved to Tennessee. Quite traumatic. I am sure it holds so many memories for you.

  6. Ramona says:

    I love this poem. Those numbers are always important – 3136, 1012 and 306 conjure up many happy memories for me just as you did with your words. Our homes hold important places in our hearts. I hope the new family loves it as you did.

  7. Tara Smith says:

    That’s a lovely poem to say good bye to a special home.

  8. Dana Murphy says:

    Oh I remember all too well the bittersweet emotions when we sold our house last year. Onward and upward – the memories stay in your heart forever.

Leave a Reply

