A Moment of Serenity

e 2 043

Place yourself in the chair. Imprint the image on your mind’s eye and imagine the sound of the creek flowing by, feel the soft touch of the breeze on your face . Close your eyes for a moment and feel yourself there. Now that you feel so calm, find your writer’s notebook and your favorite pen. Place yourself in any chair. Start writing.

Last week (when I didn’t get my slice written and posted) I was visiting friends in Indiana, Pennsylvania, and we went to their cabin in the Laurel Ridge Highlands. Tubmill Creek crosses their land. I sat in that very chair, for much longer than a moment, and soaked in all the serenity I could. I took a short video so I can recapture the feeling as needed… I tried to insert the video here, but alas, WordPress sends me the message “this filetype not supported.” Perhaps your imagination is better, anyway. Maybe your imagination can also bring to life the spotted fawn that dashed out of and back into the trees on the other side of the creek. I didn’t have my camera at the ready when it did… but I can still see it in my mind.

This entry was posted in memories, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Moment of Serenity

  1. arjeha says:

    This does look like a perfect spot to relax, collect your thoughts, and be inspired.

  2. The picture and the way you crafted your words transported me to that very spot. In the middle of God’s creation there can be renewal of many kinds! Thank you for sharing your moment of serenity and encouraging us to write!

  3. Donna Smith says:

    Looks pretty peaceful! I’ll bet you enjoyed your stay. I love seeing the deer. I had to laugh though, yesterday when I was out for a drive a deer was standing on the edge of the woods in a salt marsh. As I pointed her out, she began leaping and kicking, twisting and turning. It appeared that she suddenly realized this was not a field of grass, but reeds and mud in which she was standing and sinking! She leaped and kicked her way back to the woods. Looked a bit indignant! Other than that it was a pretty peaceful sight.

  4. Lori Sheroan says:

    I love the idea of “soaking in serenity!” I’ve felt a little stressed today; so this is exactly the exercise I needed.

  5. Tara Smith says:

    That’s a perfect spot to have and to hold onto all summer long…and into the new school year.

  6. elsie says:

    You have placed the reader in that chair with your words. What a great piece of imagery! I can hear the water too. 🙂

  7. Lynn says:

    I’ve done the same thing with a video of the ocean . . . this way I can always go back when ever I want! Great photo! Make that trip to see your friend in New Mexico . . . you won’t be disappointed 🙂

  8. luckygurl says:

    Thank you for trying to transport us to serenity! I definitely wanted to grab my writer’s notebook…

  9. Pingback: Some of My Favorite Writing from 2015 | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

